Innovative Early-Career Engineering Faculty Selected to Participate in NAE's Seventh Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium


Fri, October 02, 2015

Washington, DC, October 02, 2015 —

Seventy of the nation's most innovative, young engineering educators have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's seventh Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium. Faculty members who are developing and implementing innovative educational approaches in a variety of engineering disciplines will come together for the 2-1/2-day event, where they can share ideas, learn from research and best practice in education, and leave with a charter to bring about improvement in their home institution. The attendees were nominated by NAE members or deans and chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants. The symposium will be held Oct. 25-28 in Irvine, Calif.

 “The Frontiers of Engineering Education program brings together top university faculty to explore preparing engineers for the world’s great engineering challenges,” said NAE President Dan Mote. “It is a no-holds-barred look at the front-edge of engineering education for the 21st Century."

 “The World of Engineering Education is rapidly changing from traditional classroom approaches to focusing more on learning modalities, pedagogy, and strategies.  In addition, advances in technology is allowing us to implement a variety of active learning strategies including online, collaborative and blended approaches.  As a consequence, faculty not only need to update their course content but also their delivery approach so as to better engage today’s students, said Darryll J. Pines, Nariman Farvardin Professor and Dean of the A. James Clark School of Engineering at University of Maryland and Chair of the FOEE Advisory Committee.“ This annual FOEE Symposium brings together talented engineering educators who share their ideas and learn from others about new and innovative approaches to educating the next generation of engineers.”

The following individuals were selected as attendees

Panagiotis Artemiadis

Arizona State University

Shawn Jordan

Arizona State University

Micah Lande

Arizona State University

Konrad Rykaczewski

Arizona State University

Angela Sodemann

Arizona State University

Virginia Davis

Auburn University

William Josephson

Auburn University

Douglas Holmes

Boston University

Steffen Peuker

California Polytechnic State University- San Luis Obispo

Nina Robson

California State University, Fullerton

Alan McGaughey

Carnegie Mellon University

Deborah Stine

Carnegie Mellon University

Bryan Webler

Carnegie Mellon University

Rebecca Atadero

Colorado State University

Bradley Wall

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Kristoph Kinzli

Florida Gulf Coast University

Chloe Arson

Georgia Institute of Technology

Julie Linsey

Georgia Institute of Technology

Cassandra Telenko

Georgia Institute of Technology

Bonnie Haferkamp

Illinois Institute of Technology

Keith Holland

James Madison University

Marisa Orr

Louisiana Tech University

Amber Kemppainen

Michigan Technological University

Leonid Tsybeskov

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Daniel Ewert

North Dakota State University

Matthew Eckelman

Northeastern University

Gunar Schirner

Northeastern University

Nicholas Pohlman

Northern Illinois University

Amy O'Keefe

Northwestern University

Amit Banerjee

Penn State University-Harrisburg

Margaret Slattery

Pennsylvania State University

Branko Glisic

Princeton University

Bryan Boudouris

Purdue University

Tamara Kinzer-Ursem

Purdue University

Karen Marais

Purdue University

Waheed U. Bajwa

Rutgers University--New Brunswick

Michael Swartwout

Saint Louis University

Sinan Onal

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Gary Halada

Stony Brook University

Alex Orlov

Stony Brook University

Patrick Shamberger

Texas A&M University

David Cwiertny

The University of Iowa

Christian Claudel

The University of Texas at Austin

Amber Genau

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Eduardo Silva

University of California, Davis

Stephen Thiel

University of Cincinnati

Scot Douglass

University of Colorado at Boulder

Dirk Grunwald

University of Colorado at Boulder

Jeffrey Knutsen

University of Colorado at Boulder

Diane Sieber

University of Colorado at Boulder

Brock Woodson

University of Georgia

Soumya Srivastava

University of Idaho

William Hammack

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Sarah Vigmostad

University of Iowa

Mark French

University of Louisville

Romel Gomez

University of Maryland

Jungho Kim

University of Maryland

Aileen Huang-Saad

University of Michigan

Elizabeth Dirk

University of New Mexico

David Issadore

University of Pennsylvania

Kyle Bibby

University of Pittsburgh

Grisselle Centeno

University of South Florida

Kyle Reed

University of South Florida

Rudiger Schlaf

University of South Florida

Rachel McCord

University of Tennessee

Fernanda Leite

University of Texas at Austin

Calvin Stewart

University of Texas at El Paso

Regina Murphy

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Douglas Tougaw

Valparaiso University

Saeed Lotfifard

Washington State University


The advisory committee members of the 2015 symposium are

Darryll Pines (Chair)

University of Maryland

Nadine Aubry (Vice-Chair)

Northeastern University

Edward Berger

Purdue University

Naomi Chesler

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Rebecca Carrier

Northeastern University

Trevor Harding

California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo

Lisa Huettel

Duke University

Sharon Wood

University of Texas at Austin


The 2015 Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium is sponsored by John McDonnell and the JSM Trust.

The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine -- private, nonprofit institutions that provide science, technology, and health policy advice under a congressional charter.


Beth Cady
Contact Beth Cady
Program Officer
Nicole Flores
Contact Nicole Flores
Media Specialist