Nadine Aubry
University Distinguished Professor and Dean, Northeastern University
More Info
More Info

Nadine Aubry [NAE] is University Distinguished Professor and Dean of the Northeastern University College of Engineering, is a widely known leader in the field of fluid dynamics, particularly the modeling of open flow turbulence and other complex flows and systems using advanced decomposition techniques and dynamical systems theory. She also made noteworthy contributions to the field of microfluidics. For these and other contributions to the profession, Dr. Aubry was elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). Other recognitions include the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). She has served as Chair of the National Academies’ U.S. National Committee for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (USNC/TAM), as Chair of the US delegation to the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM), as past Chair of the American Physical Society Division of Fluid Dynamics and as a member of the Bureau of IUTAM. Dr. Aubry has also been serving on many APS and ASME committees, numerous NSF and National Research Council review panels, and a certain number of advisory boards and review panels in the U.S. and in foreign countries, including Austria, France, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea. She has given numerous invited lectures on her research at various universities and conferences. Before joining Northeastern, she was the Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor, University Professor and head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University.

Read More Read Less