A Vision for the Future of Center-Based, Multidisciplinary Engineering Research

Exploring a New Vision for Center-Based, Multidisciplinary Engineering Research Presentations and Video

April 6, 2016
07:30 AM – 08:00 AM
Registration (Light Breakfast available)
08:00 AM – 08:30 AM
Welcome, Remarks from the Sponsor, and Goals for the Day
co-chair: David R. Walt, University Professor, Tufts University
France Córdova, Director, National Science Foundation
08:30 AM – 10:30 AM
Morning Session
Panel #1: The Evolving Global Context for Center-Based Engineering Research
Arvind Krishna, Senior Vice President for Global Research, IBM
Eoin O'Sullivan, Director, Centre for Science, Technology, and Innovation Policy, University of Cambridge
Jean-Lou Chameau, President, King Abdullah university of Science and Technology
Panel #2: New Directions in University-Industry Interaction
David Parekh, Vice President for Research, United Technologies, and Director, United Technologies Research Center
Thomas Siebel, Founder and CEO, C3 IoT
Kelly O. Sullivan, Manager, Institutional S&T Investments, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
10:30 AM – 11:45 AM
Breakout #1
11:45 AM – 12:15 PM
Break and Gallery Walk #1
12:15 PM – 02:30 PM
Lunch and Presentations
Panel #3: Trends in Undergraduate and Graduate Engineering Education
Richard Miller, President, Olin College of Engineering
Katherine Banks, Vice Chancellor and Dean of Engineering at Texas A&M University
Andreas Cangellaris, Dean, College of Engineering and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois
Panel #4: Emerging Best Practices in Translating University Research into Innovation
Frederic Farina, Chief Innovation and Corporate Partnerships Officer, California Institute of Technology
Orin Herskowitz, Director, Columbia Technology Ventures, Columbia University
Dean Chang, Associate Vice President, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, University of Maryland
02:30 PM – 03:45 PM
Breakout Group 2
03:45 PM – 04:15 PM
Break and Gallery Walk #2
04:15 PM – 04:40 PM
Closing Plenary Talk
Introduction: Maxine Savitz, Honeywell (retired), Committee co-chair
John Holdren, Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
04:40 PM – 04:45 PM
Final Comments
co-chair: Maxine Savitz, Honeywell (retired), Committee co-chair
co-chair: David R. Walt, University Professor, Tufts University
04:45 PM
Adjourn and Reception with Light Refreshments