Karan Watson
Provost and Executive Vice President, Texas A&M University
More Info

Karan L. Watson has served as provost and executive vice president since July 28, 2009 (interim for 18 months). She previously served as vice provost at Texas A&M University from December 2008 to July 2009 and as dean of faculties and associate provost from February 2002 to December 2008. She joined the faculty of Texas A&M University in 1983 and is currently a Regents Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. Before assuming the position of dean of faculties and associate provost, she served as the associate dean for graduate studies in the College of Engineering. She also served the Look College as associate dean for academic affairs and as a member of the Faculty Senate. She was interim vice president and associate provost for diversity from November 2005 to September 2006, a role that she again held from December 2008 until July 2009. She is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the American Society for Engineering Education, and of ABET. Her awards and recognitions include the U.S. President's Award for Mentoring Minorities and Women in Science and Technology, the American Association for the Advancement of Science mentoring award, the IEEE International Undergraduate Teaching Award, the College of Engineering Crawford Teaching Award, and two University-level Distinguished Achievement Awards from The Texas A&M University Association of Former Students—one in Student Relations in 1992 and one in Administration in 2010. She has chaired the graduate committees of 34 doctoral students and more than 60 master's degree students. In 2003–2004, she served as a Senior Fellow of the National Academy of Engineering Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Engineering Education. Since 1991 she has served ABET as an accreditation evaluator, as an engineering accreditation commissioner, on the Board of Directors, and as ABET president for 2012-2013. She has a B.S, M.S., and PhD in Electrical Engineering from Texas Tech University.

Read More Read Less