National Academy of Engineering Elects Chair, Vice President and Four Councillors


Mon, May 14, 2018

Washington , DC, May 14, 2018 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a chair, vice president and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2018.

Reelected to serve a two-year term as the NAE's chair is Gordon R. England, chairman of PFP Cybersecurity. The NAE chair works with the NAE president to promote the Academy and its policies to the engineering community and the public. 

Reelected to serve a four-year term as the NAE's vice president is Corale L. Brierley, principal of Brierley Consultancy LLC. 

Reelected to a second term as councillor is John L. Anderson, Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology. Newly elected to three-year terms as councillors are Nadine Aubry, dean of engineering and University Distinguished Professor at Northeastern University; Wesley L. Harris, Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Edward D. Lazowska, Bill & Melinda Gates Chair of the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington. All terms are three years.

Anita K. Jones, University Professor Emerita of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at University of Virginia, and Richard H. Truly, retired vice admiral of the United States Navy and retired director of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, completed six continuous years of service as councillors, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws. Wanda M. Austin, retired president and chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation, completed four continuous years as a councillor.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, and National Academy of Medicine work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the NAS and NAM the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Program Officer for Media/Public Relations
National Academy of Engineering