Simon Ramo Founders Award

  • 2022 RECIPIENT
    Dr. L. Rafael Reif
    Office of the President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    For pioneering leadership to reimagine and advance higher education, university-based entrepreneurship, the future of computing, the future of work, sustainability and semiconductor technology.
    Full Bio More Recipients
Acceptance Remarks
The Founders Award was established in 1965 by the Academy to honor an outstanding NAE member or international member who has upheld the ideals and principles of the NAE through professional, educational, and personal achievement and accomplishment.
Key Contacts


Awarded during NAE's annual meeting in October, the recipient receives a commemorative medal imprinted with a replica of the NAE seal, a stylized Roman aqueduct representing the bridge between science and society. Though only NAE members or international members are eligible to receive the Founders Award, founding members of the National Academy of Engineering are not eligible.

On May 7, 2013, the award was renamed after Simon Ramo, who was at the time the only surviving founding member of the NAE. He was a member of a committee of 25 that in 1964 advocated for establishing the National Academy of Engineering, which operates under the same congressional charter that governs the National Academy of Sciences. Ramo passed away on June 27, 2016.