Two NAE members are recognized nationally for their distinguished innovations

Thu, January 18, 2024

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) members Andrea Goldsmith and Asad Madni are two of the 15 innovation pioneers who will be inducted into the 2024 The National Inventors Hall of Fame®. These exceptional inventors were selected for their dynamic and inspiring creations.

“It is an honor for the National Academy of Engineering membership to be represented in the 2024 class,” said John Anderson, NAE President. “Member achievements help highlight the NAE mission of advancing welfare and prosperity through engineering feats.”

Goldsmith is being inducted for creating adaptive beamforming for multi-antenna Wi-Fi. This invention helped enhance fast, reliable wireless service around the world, thus increasing livelihood through access to information. Madni is inducted for leading the creation and commercialization of the MEMS Gyroscope for Aerospace and Automotive Safety, which has saved lives across the world.

“Every year, I am impressed and inspired by the accomplishments of the newest Inductees in the National Inventors Hall of Fame,” said Kathi Vidal, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO. “We are proud to honor these world-changing inventors in the class of 2024, who show us the power of turning ideas into realities and participating in our intellectual property system to make a positive impact on our society and our future.”

Goldsmith and Madni will be inducted on May 9 at one of the innovation industry’s most highly anticipated events — “The Greatest Celebration of American Innovation®.”