2018 Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education


Thu, January 04, 2018

Washington, DC, January 04, 2018 —

The National Academy of Engineering announced today that the 2018 Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education will be awarded to Paul G. Yock of Stanford University “for the development and global dissemination of Biodesign, a biomedical technology program creating leaders and innovations that benefit patients.” The $500,000 annual award recognizes new methods and concepts in higher education aimed at developing engineering leaders.

The Gordon Prize ceremony will be held at Stanford University on Tuesday, May 22, 2018.

“Paul Yock’s work creates original innovations in health technologies and advances the expanding role of engineering in medicine.” said NAE President C. D. Mote, Jr.  “The cumulative impact of this work is monumental.”

Founded by Yock, the Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign utilizes a needs-driven approach to train the next generation of multidisciplinary leaders who will create innovations in health technology. It is a mentor-guided, entrepreneurial, and immersive experience that emphasizes and instills a comprehensive understanding of the innovation process for those in several fields.

Through his dedicated commitment to the Biodesign program, Yock has shown that innovation is a discipline that can be both organized and learned, allowing students to focus on and build sustainable careers as innovators and leaders.  Since its development, a number of programs around the world have based their curriculum on its model.  Since its establishment in 2001, 199 fellows have completed the Stanford Biodesign program.

Paul Yock is the Martha Meier Weiland Professor of Medicine and founding co-chair of Stanford University’s department of bioengineering.  He began his career as an interventional cardiologist at the University of California, San Francisco, and then moved to Stanford in 1994.  From 1997 to 1998, Yock served as acting chief of the division of cardiovascular medicine.  Yock also founded the Stanford Center for Research in Cardiovascular Interventions, training dozens of fellows in intravascular ultrasound and interventional cardiology.  He received his M.D. from Harvard Medical School and was elected into the National Academy of Engineering in 2009.

The Gordon Prize was established in 2001 as a biennial prize acknowledging new modalities and experiments in education that develop effective engineering leaders. Recognizing the potential to spur a revolution in engineering education, NAE announced in 2003 that the prize would be awarded annually.  The recipient receives a $500,000 cash award, half granted to the recipient and the remainder granted to the recipient's institution to support the continued development, refinement, and dissemination of the recognized innovation.


The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science, technology, and health.

Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Director of Communications/Media Relations
National Academy of Engineering
Deborah M. Young
Contact Deborah M. Young
Program Officer, Awards Program
National Academy of Engineering