Innovative Early-Career Engineering Faculty Selected to Participate in 2012 Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium


Tue, September 18, 2012

Washington, DC, September 18, 2012 —

Seventy-two of the nation's most innovative young engineering educators have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's fourth Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium. Faculty members who are developing and implementing innovative educational approaches in a variety of engineering disciplines will come together for the 2-1/2-day event, where they can share ideas, learn from research and best practice in education, and leave with a charter to bring about improvement in their home institution. The attendees were nominated by fellow engineers or deans and chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants. The symposium will be held Oct. 14-17 in Irvine, Calif.

"The Frontiers of Engineering Education program creates a unique venue for engineering faculty members to share and explore interesting and effective innovations in teaching and learning,” said NAE President Charles M. Vest. “We want FOEE to become a major force in identifying, recognizing, and promulgating advances and innovations in order to build a strong intellectual infrastructure and commitment to 21st-century engineering education.”

This year's program will focus on the context, curriculum, and delivery of engineering education. “It is absolutely critical that U.S. engineering educators learn how to become more effective in the classroom, utilizing technology and pedagogy in creative ways in order to produce more innovative graduates who have the ability to address the complex problems of the 21st century,” said Larry Shuman, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Distinguished Service Professor of Industrial Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, and the chair of the FOEE planning committee. “To do otherwise will cede the nation’s place as an educational leader to other, more aggressive countries. At FOEE these outstanding faculty will learn about the newest educational developments ranging from MOOCs (massive, open, online, courses) to online publishing.” 

The following individuals were selected as attendees

Jeffrey La Belle Arizona State University
Thomas Seager Arizona State University
Aviral Shrivastava Arizona State University
Lorena Barba Boston University
Peter Jansson Bucknell University
Hemanth Porumamilla California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Heidi Martin Case Western Reserve University
Marco Castaldi City College of The City University of New York
Petru Andrei Florida State University
Jill Nelson George Mason University
Adjo Amekudzi Georgia Institute of Technology
Joseph Le Doux Georgia Institute of Technology
Amy Pritchett Georgia Institute of Technology
Conor Walsh Harvard University
Robert Nagel James Madison University
Todd Hufnagel Johns Hopkins University
Constantinos Daskalakis Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dean Aslam Michigan State University
Jon Sticklen Michigan State University
Islam El-adaway Mississippi State University
Bryan Jones Mississippi State University
Lesley Strawderman Mississippi State University
Rani Sullivan Mississippi State University
Andrew Gouldstone Northeastern University
Waleed Meleis Northeastern University
Bruce Ankenman Northwestern University
Jennifer Cole Northwestern University
Kenneth Reid Ohio Northern University
Enrique Gomez Pennsylvania State University
Mireille Boutin Purdue University
Jong Hyun Choi Purdue University
Loring Nies Purdue University
Dimitrios Peroulis Purdue University
Maryam Saeedifard Purdue University
Maria Oden Rice University
Sridhar Condoor  Saint Louis University
Jon Kellar South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Stephen Canfield Tennessee Technological University
Jean-Francois Chamberland Texas A&M University
John Criscione Texas A&M University
Victor Ugaz Texas A&M University
Benjamin Hescott Tufts University
Ashok Ramasubramanian Union College
Norman Dennis University of Arkansas
Christa Hestekin University of Arkansas
Marc Facciotti University of California, Davis
Alissa Kendall University of California, Davis
Michael Neff University of California, Davis
Amir AghaKouchak University of California, Irvine
Michael Gordon University of California, Santa Barbara
Niels Da Vitoria Lobo University of Central Florida
W. Gregory Sawyer University of Florida
Stephan Durham  University of Georgia
Lawrence Angrave University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Julie Jessop University of Iowa
Omolola Eniola-Adefeso University of Michigan
Mark Yim University of Pennsylvania
Ipsita Banerjee University of Pittsburgh
Kingsley Reeves University of South Florida
Malancha Gupta University of Southern California
Claudia Rawn University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jeffrey Reinbolt University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Xiaojing (John) Zhang University of Texas, Austin
Laura Suggs University of Texas, Austin
Jose Espiritu University of Texas, El Paso
Heidi Taboada University of Texas, El Paso
Reid Bailey University of Virginia
Gavin Garner University of Virginia
Matthew Roberts University of Wisconsin, Platteville
Wei Shi University of Wisconsin, Stout
Anurag Srivastava Washington State University
Gregory Thompson West Virginia University

The planning committee members of the 2012 symposium are

Larry Shuman (Chair) University of Pittsburgh
Stephen Director (Co-Chair) Northeastern University
Mary Besterfield-Sacre University of Pittsburgh
David Darmofal Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Larry McIntire Georgia Institute of Technology
Ann McKenna Arizona State University
Karl Smith University of Minnesota/ Purdue University
Christopher Swan Tufts University
James Tien University of Miami

The 2012 Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium is sponsored by John McDonnell and the McDonnell Family Foundation.

The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the wellbeing of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.



Beth Cady
Contact Beth Cady
Program Officer
Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Media/Public Relations Officer