2021 National Academy of Engineering Annual Meeting

Post Meeting
October 07, 2021 AT 03:33 PM
Monday, Sep 27, 2021
Saturday, Oct 02, 2021
Sunday, Oct 03, 2021
Monday, Oct 04, 2021
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2021
  • 03:00 PM To 04:00 PM
    Section Chairs and Vice Chairs Workshop
  • Leslie Shoemaker
    Tetra Tech

    LESLIE SHOEMAKER, appointed president of Tetra Tech in 2019, leads its global operations, strategy, and technical innovation programs. She joined the company in 1991 and has held technical, strategic, and operational responsibilities. She has also served as chief sustainability officer for over a decade, guiding the program to recognize the ...

    Full Bio All Speakers
  • Corale L. Brierley
    National Academy of Engineering

    Corale L. Brierley is principal and founder of Brierley Consultancy LLC (1991–present), which provides technical and business consultation to the mining and chemical industries and government agencies. Previously, she was chief of environmental process development for Newmont Mining Corporation (1990–91), general partner at VistaTech ...

    Full Bio All Speakers
  • John L. Anderson
    National Academy of Engineering

    John L. Anderson is the president of the National Academy of Engineering since July 1, 2019.  He was born in Wilmington, DE, and received his undergraduate degree from the University of Delaware in 1967 and a PhD degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in1971, both in chemical engineering. He served as president of the ...

    Full Bio All Speakers
  • Deanne Bell
    Television Host and Founder/CEO of Future Engineers

    DEANNE BELL is an engineer, television host, and entrepreneur. Her television hosting credits include PBS, ESPN, Discovery Channel, National Geographic, DIY Network, and CNBC’s Make Me a Millionaire Inventor. She is also the founder and CEO of Future Engineers, an education technology company that engages students in online contests and ...

    Full Bio All Speakers
  • Mohammad Shahidehpour
    Illinois Institute of Technology
    MOHAMMAD SHAHIDEHPOUR (NAE) is University Distinguished Professor, Bodine Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and director of the Robert W. Galvin Center for Electricity Innovation at the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). He has 45 years of experience with electric power system operation and planning, and his sponsored ...
    Full Bio All Speakers

2021 NAE Annual Meeting: Engineering Adaptations to Climate Change 

***Watch the Annual Meeting Webcast***

2021 Annual Meeting Webcast

Stay Informed

Monday, September 27: Class of 2021 orientation (for new members and international members only)

Saturday, October 2: The public program began with NAE chair Donald C. Winter giving opening remarks, followed by NAE president John L. Anderson's address and then the virtual introduction of 104 new members and 24 international members elected in February followed by the presentation of the Simon Ramo Founders Award and Arthur M. Bueche Award.

Sunday, October 3: The day began with the NAE business session, followed by the second annual Special Lecture in Engineering and Society where Kate Crawford, research professor at USC Annenberg and senior principal researcher at Microsoft Research Lab–New York City, spoke on the topic of artificial intelligence and social consequences. This year’s forum on Engineering Responses to Climate Change has featured panelists NAE Member Tim Lieuwen of Georgia Institute of Technology, Catherine Peters of Princeton UniversityNAE Member Mohammad Shahidehpour of Illinois Institute of Technology, Leslie Shoemaker of Tetra Tech, and NAE Member Ken Washington of Amazon. Deanne Bell, television host and founder/CEO of Future Engineers, moderated the panel.

Monday, October 4: NAE section meetings.


Featured Speeches
  • John L. Anderson John L. Anderson
    October 2, 2021
    President's Address
    Welcome to the National Academy of Engineering's 2021 annual meeting. I’m John Anderson, president of the NAE, and it is my honor to address this very distinguished gathering and celebrate the introduction of our new members—the class of 2021.
    Speaker: John L. Anderson (National Academy of Engineering)
  • 3MB
    2021 NAE Annual Meeting Program

    2021 ANNUAL MEETING, October 2–4, 2021 • Washington, DC Engineering Adaptations to Climate Change. Quick Reference Schedule

    PostedOctober 1, 2021

  • 2MB
    NAE 2021 Introduction Booklet

    In February 2021 the members of the NAE elected 104 new members and 24 new international members. Election to the NAE is one of the highest professional distinctions conferred on engineers. The main criteria for membership in the National Academy of Engineering are outstanding personal contributions and accomplishments in one or both of the following categories:
    1. Engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature.
    2. Pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education, or providing engineering leadership of major endeavors.

    PostedSeptember 29, 2021