Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education

  • 2020 RECIPIENT
    Professor David M. Kelley
    Hasso Plattner Institute of Design Stanford University
    For formalizing the principles and curriculum of “design thinking” to develop innovative engineering leaders with empathy and creative confidence to generate high-impact solutions.
    Full Bio More Recipients
Acceptance Remarks
Inaugurated in 2001 by the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the intent of the Gordon Prize is to recognize new modalities and experiments in education that develop effective engineering leaders.
Key Contacts

description for gordon medal revised 2010The focus is on innovations such as curricular design, teaching methods, and technology-enabled learning that strengthen students' capabilities and desire to grow into leadership roles.

The Gordon Prize is presented annually*, and the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award, half granted to the recipient and the remainder granted to the recipient's institution to support the continued development, refinement, and dissemination of the recognized innovation. NAE members and non-members who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents of the U.S., and who currently are and have been substantially engaged in their engineering and scholastic work in institutions within the U.S. are eligible for the Gordon Prize.