National Academy of Engineering Elects President, Foreign Secretary and Four Councillors


Tue, May 14, 2019

Washington, DC, United States, May 14, 2019 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a president, foreign secretary and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2019.

Elected to serve a six-year term as the NAE's president is John L. Anderson, president emeritus and distinguished professor of chemical engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology. He was elected to NAE membership in 1992. In addition to his current service on the NAE Council, he has served on numerous NAE and academies committees including as chair of the Committee on Determining Basic Research Needs to Interrupt the Improvised Explosive Device Delivery Chain and chair of the Committee on Review of Existing and Potential Standoff Explosives (Suicide Bomber) Detection Techniques.

Anderson succeeds C. D. Mote, Jr. who has served one term as president.

Elected to serve a four-year term as the NAE's foreign secretary is James M. Tien, distinguished professor and dean emeritus at University of Miami. Tien, who was elected to the NAE in 2001, succeeds Ruth A. David, retired president and chief executive officer of Analytic Services Inc., who has served one four-year term as foreign secretary.

Reelected to second terms as councillors are Josephine Cheng, entrepreneur and retired vice president of International Business Machines Corporation, and Alan I. Taub, professor of materials science and engineering at University of Michigan and retired vice president, Global R&D, General Motors Company. Newly elected to three-year terms as councillors are James O. Ellis, Jr., U.S. Navy (retired) and the Annenberg Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and Robin K. McGuire, senior principal at Lettis Consultants International, Inc. (LCI). Howard B. Rosen, independent consultant, lecturer at Stanford University and former president, ALZA Corporation, a Johnson & Johnson Company, was elected by the NAE Council for a two-year term as councillor to fill the seat vacated by John Anderson.

Retiring councillors David E. Daniel, president emeritus of The University of Texas at Dallas, and C. Paul Robinson, president emeritus of Sandia National Laboratories, completed six continuous years of service, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, and National Academy of Medicine work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the NAS and NAM the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Director of Communications/Media Relations
National Academy of Engineering
Brandon  Green
Contact Brandon Green
Communications/Media Specialist
National Academy of Engineering