J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering

Recipients of the J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering

Sort By
  • 2020
    Alan C. Brown
    Alan C. Brown
    Director of Engineering (Retired)
    Lockheed Corporation
    CitationFor innovative contributions to the design of commercial and military aircraft, and particularly leadership of the team that developed the F-117 Stealth Fighter.
  • 2015
    Alan R. Mulally
    Alan R. Mulally
    Adjunct Distinguished Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Business
    University of Kansas
    CitationFor his distinguished leadership in commercial aviation as exemplified by the development and commercialization of the Boeing 777.
  • 2010
    Norman R. Augustine
    Norman R. Augustine
    Retired Chairman and CEO
    Lockheed Martin Corporation
    CitationFor his service to the nation as a dedicated aeronautical engineer, a leader in the aerospace defense industry, a public servant, a civic leader, and a thought leader in the engineering profession.
  • 2005
    Elbert L. Rutan
    Elbert L. Rutan
    President and CEO
    Scaled Composites, LLC
    CitationFor leadership in engineering design and construction of SpaceShipOne, Voyager, and other successful experimental aircraft.
  • 2000
    Richard T. Whitcomb
    Richard T. Whitcomb
    Retired Distinguished Research Associate
    NASA Langley Research Center
    CitationFor his pioneering contributions to the aerodynamic design of high performance aircraft.
  • 1995
    William Rees Sears
    William R. Sears
    CitationFor his significant and enduring contributions to education, aerodynamics, and aircraft design, including the optimal Sears-Haack body and the original Northrop flying wing.
  • 1990
    Robert T. Jones
    Robert Thomas Jones
    Consulting Professor
    Stanford University
    CitationFor his major contributions to aeronautics, including his supersonic area rule, discovery of the value of wing sweep in attaining supersonic flight, and application of the Heaviside Calculus to flight dynamics.
  • 1985
    Thornton A. Wilson
    Thornton A. Wilson
    Former CEO
    The Boeing Company
    CitationFor his bold and farsighted leadership, which has enabled this nation to maintain and enhance its preeminence in commercial aircraft.
  • 1980
    James S. McDonnell
    James Smith McDonnell
    CitationFor his distinguished and pioneering contributions in engineering design and development of advanced military and commercial aircraft.
  • 1973
  • 1968
Displaying 1 - 11 of 11
Items per Page