Gibbs Brothers Medal

Recipients of Gibbs Brothers Medal

Sort By
  • 2022
    Admiral Frank L. Bowman
    Admiral Frank L. Bowman
    (U.S. Navy, Retired), President
    Strategic Decisions, LLC
    CitationFor lifelong marine engineering innovation of nuclear-powered warships and leadership in Navy and commercial maritime safety culture.
  • 2017
    Jerome H. Milgram
    Jerome H. Milgram
    Professor Emeritus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    CitationFor wide-ranging original contributions to naval architecture in theoretical hydromechanics, education, yacht design, environmental protection, and the practical arts of ocean systems.
  • 2012
    Robert G. Keane, Jr.
    Robert G. Keane Jr.
    CitationFor continued excellence as a naval architect over many years, exemplified by the outstanding naval warships that he had a major part in designing, helping to make the U.S. Navy the most powerful in the world.
  • 2009
    Keith W. Tantlinger
    Keith W. Tantlinger
    CitationFor his visionary and innovative design of the cellular container ship and supporting systems that transformed the world's shipping fleet and facilitated the rapid expansion of global trade.
  • 2006
    Donald Liu
    Dr. Donald Liu
    Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
    American Bureau of Shipping (Retired)
    CitationFor first introducing finite element techniques into ship design and being the driving force behind the revolution in basing classification society rules on scientific principles.
  • 2003
    Alfred C. Malchiodi
    Alfred C. Malchiodi
    CitationFor leading innovations in developing the naval architecture of submarines for the efficient utilization of advanced technology.
  • 2001
    Edward E. Horton
    Mr. Edward E. Horton
    Horton Offshore
    CitationFor visionary and innovative concept development and design of off-shore platforms, mooring systems, and related technology that have significantly influenced development of deep-water operations.
  • 1999
    Justin E. Kerwin
    Dr. Justin E. Kerwin
    Professor of Naval Architecture Emeritus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Retired)
    CitationFor his outstanding contributions in the field of naval architecture, including the development of computational methods used worldwide in propeller design.
  • 1997
    William B. Morgan
    Dr. William B. Morgan
    Retired Head, Hydromechanics Directorate
    David Taylor Model Basin, Carderock Division (Retired)
    CitationFor his technical leadership in improving performance, quieting, and design of advanced marine propulsion systems, and development of large modern propulsion research and testing facilities.
  • 1995
    Owen H. Oakley
    Owen H. Oakley
    CitationFor his significant contributions to the field of naval architecture, especially in the design of naval ships, submarines, and advanced ship types and submersibles.
  • 1993
    Olin J. Stephens II
    Mr. Olin J. Stephens, II
    Sparkman and Stephens, Inc.
    CitationFor his design of outstanding sailing vessels, including six defenders of the America's Cup and thousands of ocean-racing yachts, and for promoting the use of scientific knowledge and research in the field of naval architecture.
  • 1991
    Bruce G. Collipp
    Mr. Bruce G. Collipp
    Marine Engineering Consultant
    CitationFor his invention of the semisubmersible, offshore, floating drilling platform, and for his sustained pioneering leadership in devising innovative ocean-engineering technologies.
  • 1988
    Leslie A. Harlander
    Leslie A. Harlander
    American Naval Architectural Consultant
    CitationFor his pioneering effort in the design of specialized vessels and cargo-handling equipment associated with intermodal shipping by container systems.
  • 1979
  • 1976
    John Charles Niedermair
    John Charles Niedermair
    American Naval Architect
    U.S. Naval Institute
    CitationFor his outstanding contributions to the field of naval architecture and marine engineering.
  • 1974
    Phillip Eisenberg
    Mr. Phillip Eisenberg
    President, Founder
    Hydronautics, Inc.
    CitationFor his work that is the basis of much of what is known about hydrofoils and how ships move smoothly.
  • 1970
    Henry A. Schade
    Henry A. Schade
    University of California, Berkeley
    CitationFor his outstanding contributions in the design, construction, and performance of ships.
  • 1967
    Alfred Adolf Heinrich Keil
    Dr. Alfred Adolf Keil
    Professor Emeritus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    CitationFor his outstanding contributions in the field of naval architecture and marine engineering.
  • 1965
    Frederick Henry Todd
    Dr. Frederick Henry Todd
    Naval architect and marine engineer
    U.S. Department of the Navy
    CitationFor his contributions to the theory of ship design through model experiments, and for his leadership in hydrodynamic research.
Displaying 1 - 19 of 19
Items per Page