National Academy of Engineering Elects Chair, Home Secretary and Four Councillors


Mon, May 18, 2020

Washington, DC, May 18, 2020 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a chair, home secretary and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2020.

Donald C. Winter, independent consultant and professor of engineering practice at the University of Michigan, will become the Academy’s twelfth chair, elected for a two-year term. The chair works with the NAE president to promote the Academy and its policies to the engineering community and the public. Previously, he served as the 74th Secretary of the Navy, and was president and CEO of TRW Systems (later Northrop Grumman Mission Systems). Winter, who was elected to the NAE in 2002, succeeds Gordon R. England, chairman of PFP Cybersecurity and former president of General Dynamics Fort Worth Aircraft Company (later Lockheed Corp.), who reached the term limit dictated by the NAE Bylaws.

Newly elected to serve a four-year term as NAE's home secretary is Carol K. Hall, Camille Dreyfus Distinguished University Professor in the department of chemical and biomolecular engineering at North Carolina State University, who will oversee the Academy’s membership activities. Hall, who was elected to the NAE in 2005, succeeds Julia M. Phillips, retired vice president and chief technology officer at Sandia National Laboratories, who completed a four-year term of service as home secretary. 

Reelected to a second term as councillor are Katharine G. Frase, retired vice president of education business development at International Business Machines Corporation, and Yannis C. Yortsos, dean of the Viterbi School of Engineering at the University of Southern California.  Newly elected as councillors are Anjan Bose, Regents Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Washington State University, and Brenda J. Dietrich, Arthur and Helen Geoffrion Professor of Practice at Cornell University and retired vice president of International Business Machines Corporation. All terms are three years.

Francis S. Ligler, Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering at NC State University/UNC-Chapel Hill and retired senior scientist at the US Naval Research Laboratory, and H. Vincent Poor, Michael Henry Strater University Professor at Princeton University, completed six continuous years of service as councillor, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, and National Academy of Medicine work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS and NAM the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Director of Communications/Media Relations
National Academy of Engineering
Brandon  Green
Contact Brandon Green
Communications/Media Specialist
National Academy of Engineering