Per F. Peterson
Per F. Peterson
Distinguished Professor, Department of Nuclear Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
More Info

Per F. Peterson is a distinguished professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley and holds the William and Jean McCallum Floyd Endowed Chair. He is also chief nuclear officer for Kairos Power, where he guides advanced reactor technology review and advises on scientific and technical topics for technology development and licensing. His research and teaching at UC Berkeley have focused on high-temperature fission energy systems as well as topics related to the safety and security of nuclear materials and waste management. Dr. Peterson was appointed in 2010 as a member of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future and co-chaired its Reactor and Fuel Cycle Technology Subcommittee with Senator Pete Domenici. He has served as a member or chair of numerous advisory committees for the national laboratories and National Research Council. He participated in the development of the Generation IV Roadmap (2002) as a member of the Evaluation Methodology Group, and co-chaired its Proliferation Resistance and Physical Protection Working Group until 2017. His research in the 1990s contributed to the passive safety systems in the GE ESBWR and Westinghouse AP-1000 reactor designs. His Nuclear Technology article (2003) with Charles Forsberg and Paul Pickard identified salt-cooled, solid fuel reactors as a promising technology, today called fluoride salt-cooled, high-temperature reactors (FHRs). Dr. Peterson is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society and was elected to the NAE in 2020 for experimental and analytical research contributions for the design and development of passive safety systems for advanced nuclear reactors. He got his BS from the University of Nevada, Reno and his MS and PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, all in mechanical engineering.

Read More Read Less