National Academy of Engineering Elects New Council Members


Tue, May 14, 2024

Washington , DC, May 14, 2024 —

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected a chair, home secretary, and four members to its council, announced NAE President John L. Anderson today. The NAE Council is the governing body of the NAE with oversight for general policies and programs and all funds administered by the NAE. All terms begin July 1, 2024.

Newly elected to serve a two-year term as the NAE chair is Erroll B. Davis Jr., a retired senior executive presently engaged with board, philanthropic, senior executive counseling, and consulting work. Davis was previously chair of the board of Alliant Energy Corporation and chancellor of the University System of Georgia, among other significant leadership roles. Davis was elected to the NAE in 2021. He succeeds Donald Winter, an independent consultant and former secretary of the Navy, who completes four years of continuous service as chair on June 30, 2024, the maximum allowed under the NAE bylaws.

Elected to serve a four-year term as the NAE home secretary is Howard Rosen, an independent consultant and adjunct professor and lecturer at Stanford University. Rosen was elected to the NAE in 2005 and has served five consecutive years as a councillor. He succeeds Carol Hall, Worley H. Clark Jr. distinguished university professor at North Carolina State University, who completes a four-year term as the NAE home secretary on June 30, 2024.

Geraldine Knatz, professor of the practice of policy and engineering at the University of Southern California and former executive director at the Port of Los Angeles, has served for one year as a councillor and has been elected to serve a three-year term. José G. Santiesteban, retired strategy manager for ExxonMobil, has been reelected to serve a three-year term as councillor. Newly elected to serve three-year terms as councillors are Ellen Marie Pawlikowski, an independent consultant and retired four-star general of the United States Air Force, and Roderic Pettigrew, CEO of EnHealth and executive dean of EnMed at Texas A&M University.

Retiring as councillor is Edward D. Lazowska, professor and Bill & Melinda Gates chair emeritus in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington. Lazowska will have completed six continuous years of service, the maximum allowed under the NAE bylaws.

Established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the NAE is celebrating 60 years of engineering leadership in service to the nation. The NAE, NAS, and National Academy of Medicine (NAM) work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the NAS and NAM the responsibility for providing independent, objective advice to spark progress and advance science, engineering, and medicine for the benefit of society.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering.


Sabrina  Steinberg
Contact Sabrina Steinberg
Communications/Media Associate
National Academy of Engineering