• Radka Z. Nebesky
    Director of Development
    National Academy of Engineering
    2101 Constitution Ave., NW Washington, DC 20418
  • Lauren Bartolozzi
    Associate Director of Development
    National Academy of Engineering
    2101 Constitution Ave. NW Washington, DC
Photos from Previous Events

Noteworthy News

Highlights from the 2018 Golden Bridge Society Dinner

September 2018 - NAE president C.D. Mote, Jr. and his wife Patsy hosted an intimate dinner to celebrate the NAE’s most generous members and friends at the spectacular Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum (SAAM). Attendees were immersed in “No Spectators: The Art of Burning Man,” a collection of large-scale, participatory installations transported from the Nevada desert to the nation’s capital. The exhibit captured the dynamic energy of the unique festival and gave patrons the sense of being there. Members enjoyed examining and interacting with the various exhibits.

This year five new Einstein Society statuettes were presented as tokens of NAE’s gratitude for generous support from Jaya and Venky Narayanamurti (’92), John (’94) and Wilma Kassakian, Ross (’02) and Stephanie Corotis, James M. Tien (’01) and Ellen S. Weston, and Julie and Alton D. Romig, Jr. (’03)
Two couples were welcomed into the Golden Bridge Society: Teresa and Steve Zinkle (’12) and Katherine K. and John J. Tracy (’13). Three other new Golden Bridge Society members were not able to attend: Carl de Boor ('93), Aliene and Thomas K. Perkins ('84), and Bernard I. Robertson ('99). Julie and Alton D. Romig (’03) and A. Ray Chamberlain ('06)  were recognized as new Heritage Society members. Six members of the Loyalty Society joined us: Bob Loewy (‘71), Norman Abramson ('76), Virginia Bugliarello, Stan (’91) and Evelyn Settles, Jaya and Venky Narayanamurti (’92), and Mavis White. 

The evening closed with Dr. Mote highlighting the importance of philanthropy in helping NAE to thrive and achieve its mission. He expressed his thanks to all attendees for the many ways they give and how much he has enjoyed working with them. 


Highlights from the 2017 Golden Bridge Society Dinner

October 2017 - NAE President C.D. Mote, Jr. and his wife Patsy hosted an intimate dinner to celebrate the NAE’s most generous members and friends at the National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA). The NMWA is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts. It was a fitting location for the dinner since the NAE is pursuing programs like EngineerGirl, the Grand Challenges Scholars Program, and others with the goal of preparing and enabling underrepresented groups to pursue careers in S.T.E.M. related fields and tackle Grand Challenge like issues.

This year Jim (’07) and Marci Truchard were welcomed as new Einstein Society members and presented with their statuette as a token of the NAE’s gratitude for their generous support. In addition, 4 new couples and members were welcomed into the Golden Bridge Society, including, Rob (’14) and Lenore Briskman, Diana and Michael (’03) King, Julia Phillips (’04) and her husband John Connor, and Buddy Ratner (’02) and his wife Cheryl Cromer. We were also joined by 9 members of our Loyalty Society, including, Tina Bueche, Virginia Bugliarello, Bob Loewy (‘71), Venky (’92) and Jaya Narayanamurti, Maxine Savitz (’92), Stan (’91) and Evelyn Settles, and Mavis White. The Loyalty Society recognizes those members and friends of the Academy that have given consistently for 20 years. 

The night closed with Dr. Mote highlighting the tremendous success of the third Global Grand Challenges Summit held in Washington, DC, and how important philanthropy will be to the future success of the NAE in addressing Global Challenge issues. Thank you to all of our members for your generous support, and thank you especially to those who are members of our giving societies.