Council of the National Academy of Engineering

The Council is the governing board of the National Academy of Engineering. It is comprised of six officers (chair, president, vice president, home secretary, international secretary, and treasurer) and twelve members (councillors) elected by the Academy membership.

During intervals between meetings of the members, The Council is responsible for the general policies and programs of the Academy and for the control of all funds administered by the Academy.

(Term ends June 30 of year indicated in parentheses)


  • Donald C. Winter
    Former Secretary of the Navy; Former Corporate Executive
    , TRW and Northrop Grumman
    Former Professor of Practice, University of Michigan
  • John L. Anderson
    President John L. Anderson (2025)
    , National Academy of Engineering
  • Corale L. Brierley
    Vice President Corale L. Brierley (2022)
    , Brierley Consultancy LLC
  • Carol K. Hall
    Home Secretary Carol K. Hall (2024)
    Worley H. Clark, Jr. Distinguished University Professor in Engineering
    , North Carolina State University
  • James M. Tien
    International Secretary James M. Tien (2023)
    Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus
    , College of Engineering, University of Miami
  • Roger L. McCarthy
    Treasurer Roger L. McCarthy (2025)
    , McCarthy Engineering
  • Nadine Aubry
    Provost and Senior Vice President
    , Tufts University
  • Anjan Bose
    Regents Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    , Washington State University
  • Josephine Cheng
    , San Jose, CA
    Retired Vice President, International Business Machines Corporation
  • Brenda J. Dietrich
    Arthur and Helen Geoffrion Professor of Practice
    , Cornell University
    Retired Vice President, International Business Machines Corporation
  • James O. Ellis, Jr.
    U.S. Navy (Retired)
    Annenberg Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
  • Katharine G. Frase
    Retired Vice President of Education Business Development
    , International Business Machines Corporation
  • Wesley L. Harris
    Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Edward D. Lazowska
    Professor and Bill & Melinda Gates Chair Emeritus, Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
    , University of Washington
  • Robin K. McGuire
    Senior Principal
    , Lettis Consultants International, Inc.
  • Howard B. Rosen
    Managing Director
    , BonVelo Ventures
    Lecturer, Stanford University
  • Alan I. Taub
    Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
    , University of Michigan
    Retired Vice President,Global R&D, General Motors Company
  • Yannis C. Yortsos
    , Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California
  • Alton D. Romig, Jr.
    Ex-Officio Alton D. Romig, Jr. (2025)
    Executive Officer
    , National Academy of Engineering
  • Marcia McNutt
    Ex-Officio Marcia McNutt (2022)
    , National Academy of Sciences