Council of the National Academy of Engineering

The Council is the governing board of the National Academy of Engineering. It is comprised of seven officers (chair, president, vice president, home secretary, international secretary, treasurer, and executive officer) and twelve members (councillors) elected by the Academy membership.

During intervals between meetings of the members, the Council is responsible for the general policies and programs of the Academy and for the control of all funds administered by the Academy.

The primary and secondary section are noted for each person.

(Term ends June 30 of year indicated in parentheses)


  • Donald C. Winter
    Chair Donald C. Winter (2024)
    Sections 12, 7
    74th Secretary of the Navy
    Former Professor of Practice, University of Michigan
  • John L. Anderson
    President John L. Anderson (2025)
    Sections 3, 2
    , National Academy of Engineering
  • Wesley L. Harris
    Vice President Wesley L. Harris (2026)
    Section 1
    Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Carol K. Hall
    Home Secretary Carol K. Hall (2024)
    Sections 3, 2
    Worley H. Clark, Jr. Distinguished University Professor in Engineering
    , North Carolina State University
  • Nadine Aubry
    George and Virginia Bugliarello NAE International Secretary Nadine Aubry (2027)
    Sections 10, 1
    , Tufts University
  • Roger L. McCarthy
    Treasurer Roger L. McCarthy (2025)
    Sections 10, 12
    , McCarthy Engineering
  • Alton D. Romig, Jr.
    Executive Officer Alton D. Romig, Jr.
    Sections 1, 9
    Executive Officer
    , National Academy of Engineering
  • Anjan Bose
    Sections 6, 7
    Regents Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    , Washington State University
  • Dianne Chong
    Sections 8, 9
    Retired Vice President of Materials, Manufacturing Structure & Support
    , Boeing Research and Technology
  • Fiona M. Doyle
    Sections 11, 9
    Donald H. McLaughlin Professor Emerita and Distinguished Professor Emerita of Materials Science and Engineering
    , University of California, Berkeley
  • James O. Ellis, Jr.
    Sections 12, 1
    U.S. Navy (Retired)
    Annenberg Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
  • Susan L. Graham
    Section 5
    Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor Emerita
    , University of California, Berkeley
  • Geraldine Knatz
    Section 12
    Retired Executive Director
    , Port of Los Angeles
    Professor of Practice, Schools of Engineering and Public Policy, University of Southern California
  • Edward D. Lazowska
    Section 5
    Professor and Bill & Melinda Gates Chair Emeritus, Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
    , University of Washington
  • Robin K. McGuire
    Section 4
    Senior Principal
    , Lettis Consultants International, Inc.
  • Cherry A. Murray
    Sections 7, 9
    Professor of Physics and Director of the Biosphere2 Institute
    , University of Arizona at Tucson
  • Elsa Reichmanis
    Sections 9, 3
    Professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair in Chemical Engineering
    , Lehigh University
  • Howard B. Rosen
    Sections 2, 3
    Managing Director
    , BonVelo Ventures
    Lecturer, Stanford University
  • José G. Santiesteban
    Section 3
    Retired Strategy Manager
    , ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company
  • Marcia McNutt
    Ex-Officio Marcia McNutt (2026)
    Section 11
    , National Academy of Sciences