NAE Recognizes 2013 Grand Challenges Scholars

Thu, May 30, 2013

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) congratulates 59 students for graduating as NAE Grand Challenges Scholars in 2013. The students will receive diplomas this month from Arizona State University, Duke University, Lafayette College, Louisiana Tech University, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, North Carolina State University, University of Tennessee, University of Texas at Austin, and the University of Southern California. There are currently 45 Grand Challenges Scholars programs either operating or in development in the United States.

The Grand Challenges Scholars program stemmed from the NAE's 14 Grand Challenges for Engineering. It is a combined curricular and extra-curricular program designed to prepare students to work on problems whose solutions could dramatically improve quality of life around the world. In 2009, leaders from Duke University’s Pratt School of Engineering, the Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, and the University of Southern California’s Viterbi School of Engineering proposed this new education model. The program employs a number of components, including: research experience, an interdisciplinary curriculum (referred to as Engineering +), entrepreneurship, a global dimension, and service learning.

The 2013 NAE Grand Challenges Scholars are as follows:

Arizona State University:
Pankti Shah

Duke University:
Grace Cambareri, Janghwan Cho, Hyun Koo Chung, Kerri Devine, Hunter Douglas, Maria Ferrara, Tolison Humphrey, Christine Larson, Kathryn Latham, Emmanuel Lim, Jinchin Liu, Michael Maranzano, Rahul Nayak, Tejen Shah, and Kala Viswanathan

Lafayette College:
Sarah Nusbaum, Madeleine O’Neill, Jessica Rothstein, Kelsey Lantz, Hassaan Khan, and Amira Sayyidah Ahsan

Louisiana Tech:
Kendall Belcher, Ryan Land, Jacob Eppehimer, and Nicole Roberts

Franklin W. Olin College:
Nikhil Gupta, Aiswarya Kolisetty, Jessica Noglows, Eric Kolker, Hannah Sarver, Andrew Carmedelle, David Gaynor, Erica Chin, Heidi Nafis, Brittany Strachota, Hari Iyer, Eric Jones, Caroline Condon, Geetanjali Gubba, Molly Farison, Tim Cameron Ryan, Samantha Yang, Mariah Dunn, Kelsey Breseman, Andrea Cuadra, Rebecca Schutzengel, Margaret-Ann Seger, Ilana Walder-Biesanz, and Jared Kirschner

North Carolina State University:
Heidi Klumpe

University of Tennessee:
Morgan Baltz, Ethan Cansler, and Katelyn Hasse

University of Texas at Austin:

Alison Barton, Chet Murthy, and Howard Lin

University of Southern California:
William McGare, Omar Dana, Adrian Meza

The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the wellbeing of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.