NAE Annual Meeting 2007: September 30 Public Events

The following NAE Annual Meeting public events were held at the National Academies Building in Washington, D.C. at 2100 C Street, N.W.

For more information, please contact Mary Lee Berger-Hughes at or 202-334-2197.

Sunday, September 30

12:00 p.m. Public Program Begins

Chair's Remarks by Craig R. Barrett
President's Address by Charles M. Vest
Induction Ceremony for NAE Class of 2007

1:30 p.m. Break (NAE Class of 2007 Group Photograph)

2:00 p.m. Awards Program
Founders Award
Bueche Award

2:40 p.m. Gordon Prize Recipient Lecture

Arthur W. Winston
Director, Gordon Institute, and
Research Professor of Electrical Engineering
Tufts University


Harold S. Goldberg
Retired Associate Dean
School of Engineering's Master of Science in Engineering Management
Tufts University
Jerome E. Levy
Northeastern University

3:30 p.m. Break

3:45 p.m. Armstrong Endowment for Young Engineers: Lillian M. Gilbreth Lectures

Cybersecurity: Transition from Art and Science to Engineering
Brian Witten
Senior Director of Government Research
Symantec Research Labs
Symantec Corp.

New Directions in Wireless Communications
Muriel M?dard
Edgerton Associate Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

4:45 p.m. Guest Speaker

Xu Kuangdi
Chinese Academy of Engineering

5:15 p.m. Public Program Ends