National Academy of Engineering Elects International Secretary and Four Councillors


Mon, May 15, 2023

Washington, DC, May 15, 2023 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected an international secretary and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2023.

Newly elected to serve a four-year term as the NAE’s international secretary is Nadine Aubry, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Tufts University. Aubry succeeds James M. Tien, distinguished professor and dean emeritus at University of Miami, after his four-year term as international secretary.

Reelected to a second three-year term as councillor is Anjan Bose, Regents Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Washington State University.

Newly elected to three-year terms as councillors are:

  • Fiona M. Doyle, Donald H. McLaughlin Professor Emerita and distinguished professor emerita of materials science and engineering at the University of California, Berkeley;
  • Cherry A. Murray, professor of physics and director of the Biosphere2 Institute at the University of Arizona; and 
  • Elsa Reichmanis, professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair in Chemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Lehigh University. 

Geraldine Knatz, retired executive director of the Port of Los Angeles and professor of practice in the schools of engineering and public policy at the University of Southern California, was elected by the NAE Council for a one-year term as councillor to fill the seat vacated by Nadine Aubry.

Retiring councillors Katharine G. Frase, International Business Machines Corporation (retired), and Yannis C. Yortsos, dean of the USC Viterbi School of Engineering and Zohrab Kaprielian Dean’s Chair in Engineering at the University of Southern California, completed six continuous years of service as councillors, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws. Brenda J. Dietrich, Arthur and Helen Geoffrion Professor of Practice in the School of Operations Research at Cornell University and retired vice president of International Business Machines Corporation, served a three-year term as councillor.

Council of the National Academy of Engineering as of July 1, 2023
(Term ends June 30 of year indicated in parentheses)


Chair:  Donald C. Winter (2024), independent consultant; Former Secretary of the Navy
President:  John L. Anderson (2025), National Academy of Engineering
Vice President:  Wesley L. Harris (2026), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Home Secretary:  Carol K. Hall (2024), North Carolina State University
International Secretary:  Nadine Aubry (2027), Tufts University
Treasurer:  Roger L. McCarthy (2025), McCarthy Engineering
Executive Officer:  Alton D. Romig, Jr., National Academy of Engineering


Anjan Bose (2026), Washington State University
Dianne Chong (2025), Boeing Research and Technology (Retired)
Fiona M. Doyle (2026), University of California, Berkeley (Emerita)
James O. Ellis, Jr. (2025), U.S. Navy (Retired); Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Susan L. Graham (2025), University of California, Berkeley
Geraldine Knatz (2024) Port of Los Angeles (Retired); University of Southern California
Edward D. Lazowska (2024), University of Washington
Robin K. McGuire (2025), Lettis Consultants International, Inc.
Cherry A. Murray (2026), University of Arizona at Tucson
Elsa Reichmanis (2026), Lehigh University
Howard B. Rosen (2024), BonVelo Ventures; Stanford University
Jose G. Santiesteban (2024), ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company (retired)
Ex Officio:  Marcia K. McNutt (2026), National Academy of Sciences

Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. It is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE operates under the same congressional act of incorporation that established the National Academy of Sciences, signed in 1863 by President Lincoln. Under this charter the NAE is directed “whenever called upon by any department or agency of the government, to investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art.”

The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering.

Sabrina  Steinberg
Contact Sabrina Steinberg
Communications/Media Associate
National Academy of Engineering