Council of the National Academy of Engineering

The Council is the governing board of the National Academy of Engineering. It is comprised of six officers (chair, president, vice president, home secretary, foreign secretary, and treasurer) and twelve members (councillors) elected by the Academy membership.

During intervals between meetings of the members, The Council is responsible for the general policies and programs of the Academy and for the control of all funds administered by the Academy.

(Term ends June 30 of year indicated in parentheses)


  • Gordon R. England
    Chair: Gordon R. England (2018)
    Chairman, PFP Cybersecurity
    Former President, General Dynamics Fort Worth Aircraft Company (later Lockheed Corporation)
  • Charles O. Holliday
    Immediate Past Chair: Charles O. Holliday (2017)
    Chairman of the Board, Royal Dutch Shell
    Retired Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co.
  • C. D. Mote, Jr.
    President: C. D. Mote, Jr. (2019)
    President, National Academy of Engineering
  • Corale L. Brierley
    Vice President: Corale L. Brierley (2018)
    Principal, Brierley Consultancy LLC
  • Julia M. Phillips
    Home Secretary: Julia M. Phillips (2020)
    Retired Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Ruth A. David
    Foreign Secretary: Ruth A. David (2019)
    Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Analytic Services Inc.
  • Martin B. Sherwin
    Treasurer: Martin B. Sherwin (2017)
    Retired Vice President, W. R. Grace & Co.
  • John L. Anderson
    John L. Anderson (2018)
    Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Wanda M. Austin
    Wanda M. Austin (2018)
    President and Chief Executive Officer, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Josephine Cheng
    Josephine Cheng (2019)
    Retired Vice President, International Business Machines Corporation
  • David E. Daniel
    David E. Daniel (2019)
    Deputy Chancellor, The University of Texas System
  • Anita K. Jones
    Anita K. Jones (2018)
    University Professor Emerita, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Virginia
  • Frances S. Ligler
    Frances S. Ligler (2017)
    Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Medicine and
    North Carolina State University College of Engineering
  • Arunava Majumdar
    Arunava Majumdar (2017)
    Jay Precourt Professor and Senior Fellow, Precourt Institute for Energy,
    Department of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University
  • Richard A. Meserve
    Richard A. Meserve (2017)
    President Emeritus, Carnegie Institution for Science
  • H. Vincent Poor
    H. Vincent Poor (2017)
    Michael Henry Strater University Professor, Princeton University
  • C. Paul Robinson
    C. Paul Robinson (2019)
    President Emeritus, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Alan I. Taub
    Alan I. Taub (2019)
    Retired Vice President, Global R&D, General Motors Company
    Chief Technology Officer, American Lightweight Materials Manufacturing Innovation Institute (ALMMII)
    Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Michigan
  • Richard H. Truly
    Richard H. Truly (2018)
    Retired Vice Admiral, United States Navy
    Retired Director, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Marcia McNutt
    Ex-Officio: Marcia McNutt (2022)