Innovative Early-Career Engineering Faculty Selected to Participate in Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium


Fri, October 07, 2011

Washington, DC, October 07, 2011 —

Sixty-five of the nation's most innovative, young engineering educators have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's third Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium.  Early-career faculty members who are developing and implementing innovative educational approaches in a variety of engineering disciplines will come together for the 2-1/2-day event, where they can share ideas, learn from research and best practice in education, and leave with a charter to bring about improvement in their home institution.  The attendees were nominated by fellow engineers or deans and chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants.  The symposium will be held Nov. 13-16 in Irvine, Calif.

"The Frontiers of Engineering Education program creates a unique venue for engineering faculty members to share and explore interesting and effective innovations in teaching and learning,” said NAE President Charles M. Vest.  “We want FOEE to become a major force in identifying, recognizing, and promulgating advances and innovations in order to build a strong intellectual infrastructure and commitment to 21st-century engineering education.”

This year's program will focus on teaching leading-edge engineering knowledge, project-based learning, active and self-directed learning, and assessment of student learning and education innovation.  “In our increasingly global and competitive world, the United States needs to marshal its resources to address the strategic shortfall of engineering leaders in the next decades,” said Edward F. Crawley, Ford Professor of Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the chair of the FOEE planning committee. “By holding this event, we have recognized some of the finest young engineering educators in the nation, and will better equip them to transform the educational process at their universities.”

The following individuals were selected as attendees:

Nehal Abu-Lail

Washington State University

William Arnold

University of Minnesota

Rajesh Bhaskaran

Cornell University

Melissa Bilec

University of Pittsburgh

Vladimir Bulovic

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jonathan Butcher

Cornell University

David Cappelleri

Stevens Institute of Technology

Naomi Chesler

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Timothy Chung

Naval Postgraduate School

Lydia Contreras-Martin

University of Texas, Austin

David Corti

Purdue University

Kristine Csavina

Florida Gulf Coast University

Cristina Davis

University of California, Davis

Marie des Jardins

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Cerasela-Zoica Dinu

West Virginia University

Mounya Elhilali

Johns Hopkins University

Murat Erkoc

University of Miami

Kip Findley

Colorado School of Mines

Mona Garvin

University of Iowa

Kiranraj George

California State University, Fullerton

Michael Gooseff

Pennsylvania State University

Zachary Grasley

Texas A&M University

James Groves

University of Virginia

Marco Gruteser

Rutgers University

Brent Houchens

Rice University

Christopher Hundhausen

Washington State University

Timothy Jacobs

Texas A&M University

Aditya Johri

Virginia Tech

Amy Landis

University of Pittsburgh

Lily Liang

University of the District of Columbia

Matthew Liberatore

Colorado School of Mines

Glen Livesay

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

David Love

Purdue University

Jodie Lutkenhaus

Texas A&M University

Sanjoy Mahajan

Olin College of Engineering

Tom Martin

Virginia Tech

Vicki May

Dartmouth College

James McLurkin

Rice University

Lisa McNair

Virginia Tech

J. Will Medlin

University of Colorado

Stephanie Moore

University of Virginia

Eric Nauman

Purdue University

Krishna Nayak

University of Southern California

Daniel Oerther

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Srinivasa Raghavan

University of Maryland, College Park

Ainissa Ramirez

Yale University

Huzefa Rangwala

George Mason University

Jeff Rhoads

Purdue University

Christian Schwartz

Texas A&M University

Leslie Shor

University of Connecticut

Jake Socha

Virginia Tech

Joel Sokol

Georgia Institute of Technology

Steve Stochaj

New Mexico State University

Aaron Striegel

University of Notre Dame

Charles Sullivan

Dartmouth College

Ying Tang

Rowan University

Joseph Tranquillo

Bucknell University

Hans Tritico

Youngstown State University

S. Patrick Walton

Michigan State University

James Warnock

Mississippi State University

Newell Washburn

Carnegie Mellon University

Carl Wassgren

Purdue University

Clifford Whitcomb

Naval Postgraduate School

Craig Zilles

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Gil Zussman

Columbia University

 The planning committee members of the 2011 symposium are:

Edward Crawley (Chair)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Larry Shuman (Co-Chair)

University of Pittsburgh

Mary Besterfield-Sacre

University of Pittsburgh

David Darmofal

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stephen Director

Northeastern University

Ann McKenna

Arizona State University

Karl Smith

University of Minnesota/ Purdue University

Christopher Swan

Tufts University

 The 2011 Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium is sponsored by the O’Donnell Foundation.

The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution that serves as an adviser to government and the public on issues in engineering and technology.  Its members consist of the nation's premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements.  Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences.

Beth Cady
Contact Beth Cady
Program Officer