National Academy of Engineering elects chair, home secretary, and four councillors


Mon, May 14, 2012

Washington, DC, May 14, 2012 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a chair, home secretary and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2012.

Charles O. Holliday, Jr
., chairman of Bank of America and retired chairman and chief executive officer of E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co., will become the Academy’s tenth chair, elected for a two-year term. The chair works with the NAE president to promote the Academy and its policies to the engineering community and the public. Holliday has served as chairman of the board of directors of Bank of America since April 2010, and he has served as a director since September 2009. He is the former chairman of the board of directors of E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co., a position he held from 1999 to 2009. He served as chief executive officer of DuPont from 1998 until 2008. Holliday joined DuPont in 1970 as an engineer and held various positions throughout his tenure of more than 30 years. Holliday, who was elected to the NAE in 2004, succeeds Irwin M. Jacobs, director of Qualcomm Incorporated, who reached the term limit dictated by the NAE Bylaws.

Re-elected to a four-year term as home secretary is Thomas F. Budinger, professor of the graduate school at the University of California, Berkeley, and senior consulting scientist at the E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Budinger, who was elected to the NAE in 1996, oversees the Academy’s membership activities.

Re-elected to second three-year terms as councillors are Corale L. Brierley, principal at Brierley Consultancy LLC, and Arnold F. Stancell, retired vice president of Mobil Oil and Turner Professor of Chemical Engineering, emeritus, at Georgia Institute of Technology. Newly elected to three-year terms are Anita K. Jones, university professor emerita at the University of Virginia, and Richard H. Truly, retired vice admiral in the United States Navy and retired director of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Retiring councillor Robert F. Sproull, retired vice president and director of Sun Labs at Oracle, completed six continuous years of service, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws. Retiring councillor G. Wayne Clough, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, completed four continuous years of service. He was ineligible for a continuing three-year term, because it would exceed the maximum six continuous years of service allowed under the Academy’s bylaws.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Media and Public Relations Officer
council election