C. D. (Dan) Mote Jr. Nominated to Be Next National Academy of Engineering President


Wed, September 12, 2012

WASHINGTON, September 12, 2012 —

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) 2013 nominating committee1 has unanimously recommended C. D. (Dan) Mote Jr., past president and Regents Professor of the University of Maryland (UMD), to stand as the sole candidate2 for the NAE presidency. NAE members will vote in March 2013 to elect a new NAE president to a six-year term beginning July 1. If elected, Mote will succeed Charles M. Vest, whose term ends June 30, 2013. 

"I am thrilled that Dan has accepted the nomination for the NAE presidency," said NAE council chair Charles O. Holliday Jr., retired chairman of the board and CEO of DuPont. "His passion for engineering excellence and his experience advancing the profession make him the ideal person to build upon the leadership of Chuck Vest."

The National Academy of Engineering is part of the National Academies, which also include the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council. These independent, nonprofit institutions advise the government and the public on issues related to science, engineering, and medicine. NAE members are the nation's premier engineers, elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements. Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences in 1863. The NAE president is a full-time employee of the organization at its headquarters in Washington, D.C., and also serves as vice chair of the National Research Council, the principal research arm of the National Academies.

From 1998 to 2010, Mote served as UMD president and Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering. Under his leadership, UMD research funding increased by more than 150 percent and the university greatly expanded partnerships with corporate and federal laboratories. Mote also negotiated establishment of the University of Maryland-China Research Park, connecting Maryland and Chinese companies for joint ventures. Stressing the importance of closing the achievement gap, Mote helped UMD achieve the fourth highest graduation rate for underrepresented minorities in 2007 among public research universities. He has testified before Congress and been featured in the news media on issues ranging from education funding models to visa barriers for international students to deemed export control issues.

Internationally recognized for his research on the dynamics of gyroscopic systems, including high-speed translating and rotating systems, and the biomechanics of snow skiing, Mote has authored or co-authored more than 300 publications, holds patents in the United States, Norway, Finland, and Sweden, and has mentored 58 Ph.D. students.

Mote was elected to the NAE in 1988 "for analysis of the mechanics of complex dynamic systems, providing results of great practical importance in vibrations and biomechanics," and is the current NAE treasurer and a member of the Research Council's Governing Board Executive Committee. In addition, he co-chairs the Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable and Committee on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Workforce Needs for the U.S. Department of Defense and the U.S. Defense Industrial Base. His past Research Council service includes membership on the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy and chairmanship of the Committee on Global Science and Technology Strategies and Their Effect on U.S. National Security.

Mote received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, where he served on the faculty for 31 years and held positions as chair of the department of mechanical engineering, president of the UC Berkeley Foundation, and vice chancellor. He has received three honorary doctorates and the Berkeley Citation, an award from the university similar to an honorary doctorate.

 1The members of the NAE nominating committee represent each of the 12 sections of the Academy and are elected by the members of each section. The three largest sections place two members on the committee, resulting in an elected membership of 15. The chair of the nominating committee is selected from among these 15 members by the NAE Council, the governing body of the NAE. In addition, one member of the council serves as its representative on the nominating committee, the NAE vice president and home secretary serve ex officio, and the chair of the previous year's nominating committee also serves. No member may be elected to serve on the nominating committee more than once in six years. The members of the committee were as follows:

John L. Anderson (chair), Illinois Institute of Technology
Rudolph Bonaparte, Geosyntec Consultants
James A. Brierley, Brierley Consultancy, LLC
Bruce R. Ellingwood, Georgia Institute of Technology
Zvi Galil, Georgia Institute of Technology
Arthur H. Heuer, Case Western Reserve University
Fazle Hussain, University of Houston
Karl G. Kempf, Intel Corp.
Frances S. Ligler, Naval Research Laboratory
Kuo-Nan Liou, University of California, Los Angeles
Debasis Mitra, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Arogyaswami J. Paulraj, Stanford University
Arun G. Phadke, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Prabhakar Raghavan, Google Inc.
David A. Whelan, The Boeing Company
Julia Phillips, NAE Council representative; Sandia National Laboratories
Thomas Budinger (ex officio), NAE home secretary; Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley
Maxine Savitz (ex officio), NAE vice president; Honeywell Inc. (ret.)
Ann L. Lee (immediate past chair), Genentech Inc. 

2According to the bylaws of the NAE, a candidate may be added to the ballot for any position by petition. Such petition must be signed by 5 percent of the active members of the Academy, representing at least 10 different institutions, and must be submitted by January 15 of the election year.


Click here to Download the C. D. (Dan) Mote Jr. Photo

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Media and Public Relations Officer
Mote president