Nicholas M. Donofrio
IBM Fellow Emeritus, International Business Machines Corporation
More Info

NICHOLAS M. DONOFRIO is IBM Fellow Emeritus and (retired) executive vice president, Innovation and Technology, IBM Corporation. Nick Donofrio is a 44-year IBM veteran who led IBM’s technology and innovation strategies from 1997 until his retirement in October 2008. He also was vice chairman of the IBM International Foundation and chairman of the Board of Governors for the IBM Academy of Technology. Mr. Donofrio’s most recent responsibilities included IBM Research, Governmental Programs, Technical Support & Quality, Corporate Community Relations, as well as Environmental Health & Product Safety. Also reporting to Mr. Donofrio were the senior executives responsible for IBM’s enterprise on demand transformation. In addition to that strategic business mission, Mr. Donofrio led the development and retention of IBM’s technical population and enriched that community with a diversity of culture and thought. In 2008 IBM Chairman Sam Palmisano elected Nick IBM Fellow, the company’s highest technical honor.

Mr. Donofrio joined IBM as a college co-op student in 1964 and worked on the memory technology for the legendary IBM System/360 mainframe computing system. After being hired full time at IBM in 1967, he spent the early part of his career in integrated circuit and chip development as a designer of logic and memory chips. He held numerous technical management positions and, later, executive positions in several of IBM's product divisions. He has led many of IBM’s major development and manufacturing teams—from semiconductor and storage technologies, to microprocessors and personal computers, to IBM’s entire family of servers.

He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1967 and a Master of Science in the same discipline from Syracuse University in 1971. In 1999 he was awarded an honorary doctorate in engineering from Polytechnic University, in 2002 he received an honorary doctorate in Sciences from the University of Warwick in England, in 2005 he was awarded an honorary doctorate in Technology from Marist College, and in 2006 he received an honorary doctorate in sciences from the University of Edinburgh in Scotland. Pace University awarded him an honorary doctorate in sciences in 2009, the National University of Ireland, Maynooth awarded him an honorary doctorate in sciences in 2010, and Syracuse University awarded him an honorary doctorate in sciences in 2011.

Mr. Donofrio is focused sharply on advancing education, employment, and career opportunities for underrepresented minorities and women. He served for many years on the Board of Directors for the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME) and was NACME’s Board chair from 1997 through 2002. He also served for several years on the Board of Directors for INROADS, a non- profit organization focused on the training and development of talented minority youth for professional careers in business and industry. He presently is co-chair of the New York Hall of Science.

In 2005, Mr. Donofrio was appointed by the U.S. Department of Education to serve on the Commission on the Future of Higher Education, a 20-member delegation of business and university leaders charged with developing a new national strategy for post-secondary education that will meet the needs of Americas diverse population and also address the economic and workforce needs of the country's future.

He is the holder of seven technology patents and is a member of numerous technical and science honor societies. He is a fellow of the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers, a fellow of the U.K-based Royal Academy of Engineering, a member of the US-based National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the Board of Directors for the Bank of New York/Mellon, a member of the Republic of China’s Science and Technology Advisory Group Board, a member of the Board of Trustees at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, a member of the Board of Directors of Liberty Mutual, a member of the Board of Directors of AMD, a member of the Board of Managers of the Delphi Company, a member of the Board of Trustees of The MITRE Corporation, and a senior fellow of the Kauffman Foundation. In 2010, Mr. Donofrio became a member of the U. S. Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board (SEAB), the Penn State School of International Affairs External Advisory Board, and the Workforce Opportunity Services Academic Advisory Board. In 2011, he became a member of the Atlas Research Board of Advisors, a member of the Sproxil Board of Directors, a member of the Syracuse University Board of Trustees, and was appointed by Governor Malloy to the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education.

Mr. Donofrio has received many awards and honors, including the Mensforth International Gold Medal for outstanding contributions to the advancement of manufacturing engineering awarded by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, United Kingdom (2002); Technology Leader of the Year, Industry Week magazine (2003); Technical Executive of the Year, University of Arizona (2003); Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in the engineering field awarded by the Society of Women Engineers (2003); election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2005); George Arents Pioneer Medal, Syracuse University (2005); Overall Technology Leadership Award, CNBC (2005); Urban Visionary Award, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art (2006); named among Business Week magazine’s 25 Top Innovation Champions (2006); Robert Fletcher Award for distinguished achievement and service from the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College (2007); National Education and Leadership Award, Sons of Italy Foundation (2007);Excellence in Leadership Award, U.S. Chamber of Commerce (2008); Gold Medal, U.S. National Nuclear Security Administration (first-ever NNSA Gold Medal presented to a non-U.S. government employee) (2008); Director’s Memento of Esteem, U.S. National Security Agency, for substantial contributions to the United States Department of Defense (2008); Renaissance Engineer Award, Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), for commitment and promotion of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics for the U.S. Hispanic community in both education and business (2008); Toastmasters International Communications and Leadership Award (2009); Medal of the Industrial Research Institute Inc. (2010); and Ridgefield (Connecticut) Library Paccadolmi Award for Leadership (2011).

Read More Read Less