Armstrong Endowment for Young Engineers - Gilbreth Lectures

Project Status
In Progress
February 19, 2021
A lectureship recognizing outstanding young American engineers.
Key Contacts

The Gilbreth Lectures were established in 2001 by the Council of the National Academy of Engineering as a means of recognizing outstanding young American engineers and making them more visible to the NAE membership. Recipients of the lectureships are nominated from the Frontiers of Engineering program and have the opportunity to make presentations at NAE’s fall Annual Meetings and spring National Meetings. 

The Gilbreth Lectureships are named in honor of Lillian Gilbreth, the first woman elected to the National Academy of Engineering (1965) and a pioneer in the field of Human Factors. 

 Eric Greene  National Institutes of Health  October 2001
 Jean Pierre Bardet  University of Southern California  February  2002
 Michael S. Mermelstein  Lightwave Instruments  February 2002
 Michael F. Molnar  Cummins, Inc.  February 2002
 Michael L. Roukes  California Institute of Technology  February 2002
 Andrea Goldsmith  Stanford University  October 2002
 Cynthia Riley  National Renewable Energy Laboratory  October 2002
 Steven Van Enk  Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies  October 2003
 Roy Want  Intel Research  October 2003
 Alan Russell  University of Pittsburgh  October 2004
 Melody Moore  Georgia State University  October 2004
 Tommaso Rivellini  Jet Propulsion Laboratory  February 2005
 Jon Berkoe  Bechtel National, Inc.  February 2005
 Connie Chang-Hasnain  University of California, Berkeley  February 2005
 Paul Debevec  University of Southern California  February 2005
 Stephen Intille  Massachusetts Institute of Technology  October 2005
 Steve Conolly  University of California, Berkeley  February 2006
 Tsu-Jae King Liu  Synopsys, Inc.  February 2006
 Michael McGehee  Stanford University  February 2006
 Barry Stipe  Hitachi Global Storage Technologies  February 2006
 Karen Hagedorn  ExxonMobil  October 2006
 John-Paul Clarke  Georgia Institute of Technology  October 2006
 Brian Witten  Symantec  September 2007
 Muriel Medard  Massachusetts Institute of Technology  September 2007
 Jeff Bilmes  University of Washington  February 2008
 Hans Koenigsmann  Space Exploration Technologies  February 2008
 Lloyd Watts  Audience, Inc.  February 2008
 Rebecca Wright  Rutgers University  February 2008
 Mohan Manoharan  GE Global Research  October 2008
 Cynthia Breazeal  Massachusetts Institute of Technology  October 2008
 Yoky Matsuoka  University of Washington  October 2009
 Jeffrey Welser  IBM Corporation  October 2009
 Ayanna Howard  Georgia Institute of Technology  February 2010
 Laura Niklason  Yale University  February 2010
 Jorge Lopez  Shell International Exploration & Production Inc.  February 2010
 Chad Jenkins  Brown University  February 2010
 David Sedlak  University of California, Berkeley  October 2010
 Christine Chiu  University of Reading  October 2010
 Jeanne VanBriesen  Carnegie Mellon University  October 2011
 Armando Fox  University of California, Berkeley  October 2011
 Luiz André Barroso  Google  February 2012
 Bradley Jaeger  Edison2  February 2012
 Urbashi Mitra  University of Southern California  February 2012
 David Tse  University of California, Berkeley  February 2012
 Hod Lipson  Cornell University  October 2012
 John Ochsendorf  Massachusetts Institute of Technology  October 2012
 Ronald Azuma  Intel IXR  February 2013
 Manu Parashar  ALSTOM Grid Inc.  February 2013
 Sossina Haile  California Institute of Technology  February 2013
 Riley Duren  Jet Propulsion Laboratory  February 2013
 Amy Kaleita  Iowa State University  October 2013
 Christopher Geyer  iRobot Corporation  October 2013
 Daniel Fenz  ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company  February 2014
 Peter Meinhold  Provivi, Inc  February 2014
 Lynn Russell  University of California, San Diego  February 2014
 Donald Siegel  University of Michigan  February 2014
 Todd Coleman  University of California, San Diego  February 2015
 Julia Greer  California Institute of Technology  February 2015
 Dennis Hong  University of California, Los Angeles  February 2015
 Richard Marks  Sony Computer Equipment  February 2015
 Claus Daniel  Oak Ridge National Laboratory  February 2016
 Vijay Janapa Reddi  University of Texas at Austin  February 2016
 Rebecca Moore  Google  February 2016
 Shwetak Patel  University of Washington  February 2016
 Lars Blackmore  SpaceX  February 2017
 David Lentink  Stanford University  February 2017
 Alexandre Bayen  University of California, Berkeley  February 2017
 Ana Arias  University of California, Berkeley  February 2017
 Rikky Muller  University of California, Berkeley  February 2017
 Allison Okamura  Stanford University  February 2018
 Daniel Work  Vanderbilt University  February 2018
 Branko Kerkez  University of Michigan  February 2018
 Amy Lo  Northrup Grumman Aerospace Systems  February 2018
 Leman Akoglu  Carnegie Mellon University  February 2019
 Andrew Johnson  Jet Propulsion Laboratory  February 2019
 Robert Gaunt  University of Pittsburgh  February 2019
 Stephen Nichols  Otis Elevator Company  February 2019
 Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez  University of Texas at Austin  February 2020
 Christian Hubicki   Florida A&M University-Florida State University  February 2020
 Aaron Parness  Amazon  February 2020
 Dorsa Sadigh  Stanford University  February 2020
 Omar Akbari  University of California, San Diego  February 2021
 Marissa Jablonski  Freshwater Collaborative of Wisconsin  February 2021