National Academy of Engineering Elects Treasurer and Four Councillors


Fri, April 21, 2017

Washington, DC, April 21, 2017 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a treasurer and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2017.

Reelected to serve a four-year term as the NAE's treasurer is Martin B. Sherwin, retired vice president of W.R. Grace. 

Reelected to second terms as councillors are Frances S. Ligler, Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the joint department of biomedical engineering at the North Carolina State University College of Engineering and the University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill School of Medicine, and H. Vincent Poor, Michael Henry Strater University Professor at Princeton University. Newly elected councillors are Katharine G. Frase, retired vice president of education business development at International Business Machines Corporation, and Yannis C. Yortsos, dean of the Viterbi School of Engineering at the University of Southern California. All terms are three years.

Richard A. Meserve, president emeritus of the Carnegie Institution for Science, completed six continuous years of service as councillor, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws. Arun Majumdar, Jay Precourt Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Senior Fellow of the Precourt Institute for Energy at Stanford University served one three-year term as councillor.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, and National Academy of Medicine work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the NAS and NAM the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Program Officer for Media/Public Relations
National Academy of Engineering