Innovative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in NAE’s 2018 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


Thu, June 28, 2018

Washington, DC, June 28, 2018 —

Eighty-four of the nation’s brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering’s (NAE) 24th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering (USFOE) symposium. Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the 2 1/2 day event. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations.

The 2018 USFOE will be hosted by MIT Lincoln Laboratory in Lexington, Massachusetts, Sept. 5-7, and will cover cutting-edge developments in four areas: Quantum Computing, Technology for Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief, Resilient and Reliable Infrastructure, and Theranostics.

“It is critically important to bring young engineers from different technical areas together to spark innovation,” said NAE President C. D. Mote, Jr. “The Frontiers of Engineering program does this by creating a space for talented engineers to learn from each other and expand their technical perspectives early in their careers. Congratulations to this year’s FOE participants.”

The following engineers were selected as general participants:

Margaret Ackerman

Dartmouth College

Amir Ali Ahmadi

Princeton University

Jenna Balestrini

Draper Laboratory

Lee Bassett

University of Pennsylvania

Muyinatu Bell

Johns Hopkins University

Matthew Brenner


Ashley Brown

North Carolina State University and UNC Chapel Hill

Brett Byram

Vanderbilt University

Justin Cacciatore

Procter & Gamble

David Camarillo

Stanford University

John Cannarella


Adrian Caulfield


Sonia Chernova

Georgia Institute of Technology

Mikhail Chester

Arizona State University

Soon-Jo Chung

California Institute of Technology

Brian Cromer

Arkema Inc.

Andrew Detor

GE Global Research

Tarik Dickens

FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

Megan Donaldson

Dow Chemical Co.

Jeff Dusek

Olin College of Engineering

Scott Eastman

United Technology Research Center

Amy Elliott

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Brian Ellis

University of Michigan

Sam Emaminejad

University of California, Los Angeles

Dirk Englund

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jeff Fowler

Xerox Corp.

Talia Gershon


Razi-ul Haque

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Nicole Hashemi

Iowa State University

Alex Hegyi


Brandon Heimer

Sandia National Laboratories

Amanda Hughes

Geosyntec Consultants

Gaurav Jain


Matthew Johnson


Steven Jung

MO-SCI Corp.

Neha Kamat

Northwestern University

Ahmad Khalil

Boston University

Emily Kinser


Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio

Yale University

Megan Kreiger

US Army Corps of Engineers

Spencer Lake

Washington University, St. Louis

Camille Lewis

Lockheed Martin

Mark Losego

Georgia Institute of Technology

Abhijit Mallick

Applied Materials

Josh McCall

Humacyte, Inc.

Donald Metzler


Ashley Micks

Ford Motor Co.

Giovanni Milione

NEC Laboratories America

Kristin Myers

Columbia University

Michelle O'Malley

University of California, Santa Barbara

Christopher O'Neill

Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.

Jennifer Pazour

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Susan Peterson


Hoifung Poon


Taylor Pratt

GE Aviation

Rapeepat Ratasuk

Nokia Bell Labs

Heather Reed

Thornton Tomasetti

Erica Rodgers

NASA Headquarters

Alejandro Rodriguez

Princeton University

Adrianne Rosales

University of Texas, Austin

Emily Sarver

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Ketan Savla

University of Southern California

Kathryn Schumacher

General Motors

Christopher Semisch

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Kalpana Seshadrinathan


Asma Sharafi

Ford Motor Co.

Matthew Sheehan

U.S. Navy

Charles Sing

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

David Sontag

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Logan Sorenson

HRL Laboratories, LLC

Lauren Stadler

Rice University

Clay Sutton

ExxonMobil Research & Development Co

Scott Swensen

Exponent, Inc.

Doug Taylor

Schweitzer Engineering

Susan Thomas

Georgia Institute of Technology

Joshua Thompson

Chevron Energy Technology Co.

Jesse Tice

Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Corey Trobaugh


Kiu-Yuen Tse

3M Co.

Jade Wang

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Andrew Whelton

Purdue University

Tim White

Air Force Research Laboratory

Brent Woods

Ball Aerospace and Technology Corp.

Victor Zavala

University of Wisconsin

Organizing Committee:

Jennifer West (Chair)

Duke University

Jerry Chow


Francesca D'Arcangelo

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Rebekah Drezek

Rice University

Darrell Irvine

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Grace Metcalfe

US Army Research Laboratory

Mira Olson

Drexel University

Julie Pietrzak


Iris Tien

Georgia Institute of Technology


Willow Brugh

MIT Center for Civic Media

Sara Gamble

Army Research Office

Robert Hanson

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Marissa Jablonski


Darshan Karwat

Arizona State University

Shelby Kimmel

Middlebury College

Ester Kwon

University of California, San Diego

Frank Matranga

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Judith Mitrani-Reiser

Johns Hopkins University

Firas Saleh

Jupiter Networks

Evan Scott

Northwestern University

Sarah Sheldon

IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

Andrew Tsourkas

University of Pennsylvania

Josh Vertalka

Resilient Solutions 21

Norman Yao

University of California, Berkeley


Sponsors for the 2018 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are The Grainger Foundation, National Science Foundation, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, DOD ASDR&E Laboratories Office, Microsoft Research, and Cummins.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science, technology, and health.


Randy  Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Director of Communications/Media Relations
National Academy of Engineering
Brandon  Green
Contact Brandon Green
Communications/Media Specialist
National Academy of Engineering