National Academy of Engineering Elects President, Treasurer, and Four Councillors


Tue, May 28, 2013

Washington, DC, May 28, 2013 —

The National Academy of Engineering has elected a president, treasurer, and four members to its governing Council. All terms begin July 1, 2013.

Elected to a six-year term as NAE president is C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., Regents Professor and Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering in the A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland (UMD) and past president of UMD. Mote, a mechanical engineer, was elected to NAE membership in 1988, served as an NAE councillor from 2002 to 2008, and has been NAE treasurer since July 2009. His science policy work includes membership on the committee that authored the National Academies’ Rising above the Gathering Storm; chairing the committee on Global Science and Technology Strategies and Their Effect on the US National Security, which published the report S&T Strategies of Six Countries; and cochairing the committee on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Workforce Needs for the US Department of Defense and the US Defense Industrial Base, which published the report Assuring the US Department of Defense a Strong Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Workforce. He has received many awards and honors, including the 2005 NAE Founders Award.

Mote succeeds Charles M. Vest, who completed a six-year term as NAE president.

Elected to a four-year term as treasurer is Martin B. Sherwin, retired vice president of W. R. Grace. Sherwin, who was elected to the NAE in 1998, succeeds C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr.

Reelected to a second three-year term as councillor is Paul Citron, retired vice president of technology policy and academic relations at Medtronic, Inc. Newly elected to three-year terms are Uma Chowdhry, senior vice president and chief science and technology officer emerita of the DuPont Company Experimental Station; David E. Daniel, president of the University of Texas at Dallas; and C. Paul Robinson, president emeritus of Sandia National Laboratories.

Retiring councillors Linda M. Abriola, dean of engineering at Tufts University; Ruth A. David, president and chief executive officer of ANSER (Analytic Services Inc.); and Charles Elachi, director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and vice president of the California Institute of Technology, completed six continuous years of service, the maximum allowed under the Academy’s bylaws.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Media Relations Officer