Armstrong Endowment for Young Engineers - Gilbreth Lectures

Project Status
In Progress
May 29, 2024
A lectureship recognizing outstanding young American engineers.
Key Contacts

The Gilbreth Lectures were established in 2001 by the Council of the National Academy of Engineering as a means of recognizing outstanding young American engineers and making them more visible to the NAE membership. Recipients of the lectureships are nominated from The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering program and have the opportunity to make presentations at NAE’s fall Annual Meetings and spring National Meetings. 

The Gilbreth Lectureships are named in honor of Lillian Gilbreth, the first woman elected to the National Academy of Engineering (1965) and a pioneer in the field of Human Factors.

Past Recipients of the Gilbreth Lectureship 

Andrew Abercromby, NASA (2024)

Omar Akbari, University of California, San Diego (2021)

Leman Akoglu, Carnegie Mellon University (2019)

Ana Carina Arias, University of California, Berkeley (2017)

Ronald Azuma, Intel IXR (2013)

Jean Pierre Bardet, University of Southern California (2002)

Luiz André Barroso, Google (2012)

Allison Barto, Ball Aerospace (2022)

Isabel Barton, University of Arizona (2024)

Alexandre Bayen, University of California, Berkeley (2017)

Jon Berkoe, Bechtel National, Inc. (2005)

Jeff Bilmes, University of Washington (2008)

Lars Blackmore, SpaceX (2017)

Keren Bolter, Deltares, USA (2022)

Cynthia Breazeal, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2008)

Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California, Berkeley (2005)

Christine Chiu, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center (2010)

John-Paul Clarke, Georgia Institute of Technology (2006)

Todd Coleman, University of California, San Diego (2015)

Steve Conolly, University of California, Berkeley (2006)

Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, University of Texas at Austin (2020)

Claus Daniel, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2016)

Paul Debevec, University of Southern California (2005)

Riley Duren, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (2013)

Daniel Fenz, ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company (2014)

Armando Fox, University of California, Berkeley (2011)

Robert Gaunt, University of Pittsburgh (2019)

Christopher Geyer, BAE Systems (2013)

Andrea Goldsmith, Stanford University (2002)

Eric Greene, National Institutes of Health (2001)

Julia Greer, California Institute of Technology (2015)

Karen Hagedorn, ExxonMobil (2006)

Sossina Haile, California Institute of Technology (2013)

Dennis Hong, University of California, Los Angeles (2015)

Ayanna Howard, Georgia Institute of Technology (2010)

Caitlin Howell, University of Maine (2023)

Christian Hubicki, Florida A&M University-Florida State University (2020)

Stephen Intille, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2005)

Marissa Jablonski, Freshwater Collaborative of Wisconsin (2021)

Bradley Jaeger, Edison2 (2012)

Vijay Janapa Reddi, University of Texas at Austin (2016)

Chad Jenkins, Brown University (2010)

Andrew Johnson, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (2019)

Amy Kaleita, Iowa State University (2013)

Branko Kerkez, University of Michigan (2018)

Tsu-Jae King Liu, Synopsys, Inc. (2006)

Hans Koenigsmann, Space Exploration Technologies (2008)

Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio, Yale University (2022)

David Lentink, Stanford University (2017)

Hod Lipson, Cornell University (2012)

Amy Lo, Northrop Grumman (2018)

Jorge Lopez, Shell Intl. Exploration & Production, Inc. (2010)

Mohan Manoharan, GE Global Research (2008)

Richard Marks, Sony Computer Entertainment (2015)

Yoky Matsuoka, University of Washington (2009)

Michael McGehee, Stanford University (2006)

Muriel Medard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2007)

Peter Meinhold, Provivi, Inc (2014)

Michael S. Mermelstein, Lightwave Instruments (2002)

Urbashi Mitra, University of Southern California (2012)

Michael F. Molnar, Cummins, Inc. (2002)

Melody Moore, Georgia State University (2004)

Rebecca Moore, Google (2016)

Rikky Muller, University of California, Berkeley (2017)

Bo Naasz, NASA (2023)

Stephen Nichols, Otis Elevator Company (2019)

Laura Niklason, Yale University (2010)

John A. Ochsendorf, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (2012)

Allison Okamura, Stanford University (2018)

Chethan Pandarinath, Emory University and Georgia Institute of Technology (2024)

Manu Parashar, Alstom Grid Inc. (2013)

Aaron Parness, Amazon (2020)

Shwetak Patel, University of Washington (2016)

Brian Post, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2023)

Cynthia Riley, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (2002)

Tommaso Rivellini, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (2005)

Michael L. Roukes, California Institute of Technology (2002)

Alan Russell, University of Pittsburgh (2004)

Lynn Russell, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (2014)

Dorsa Sadigh, Stanford University (2020)

Karma Sawyer, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (2023)

David Sedlak, University of California, Berkeley (2010)

Donald Siegel, University of Michigan (2014)

Annabelle Singer, Georgia Institute of Technology (2022)

Barry Stipe, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies (2006)

David Tse, University of California, Berkeley (2012)

Steven Van Enk, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies (2003)

Jeanne VanBriesen, Carnegie Mellon University (2011)

Roy Want, Intel Research (2003)

Lloyd Watts, Audience, Inc. (2008)

Jeffrey Welser, IBM Corporation (2009)

Brian Witten, Symantec (2007)

Dan Work, Vanderbilt University (2018)

Rebecca Wright, Rutgers University (2008)

Kathryn Zealand, Skip (2024)