Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in NAE's 2015 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


Thu, June 25, 2015

Washington, DC, June 25, 2015 —

Eighty-nine of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 21st annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering (USFOE) symposium. Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the 2 1/2 day event. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations.

The 2015 USFOE will be held on September 9-11, at the National Academies' Beckman Center in Irvine, Calif., and will cover cutting-edge developments in four areas: cybersecurity, forecasting natural disasters, optical and mechanical materials, and engineering the search for earth-like exoplanets.

“The USFOE symposium brings together some of our nation’s brightest young engineering talents and gives them the opportunity to develop professional relationships that become critical their advancing our nation’s well-being throughout their careers,” said NAE President C. D. Mote, Jr.

The following engineers were selected as general participants

Alina Alexeenko

Purdue University

Jorge Arinez

General Motors Research & Development

David Baek

Qualcomm Inc.

Debasish Banerjee

Toyota Research Institute of North America

Behnam Bastani


Sarah Bedair

Army Research Laboratory

Peter Bermel

Purdue University

Barron Bichon

Southwest Research Institute

Lars Blackmore

Space Exploration Technologies

Jose Blanchet

Columbia University

Alberto Giovanni Busetto

University of California, Santa Barbara

Robert Candler

University of California, Los Angeles

Krystel Castillo

University of Texas at San Antonio

Judy Cha

Yale University

Julie Chambon

Geosyntec Consultants

Ovijit Chaudhuri

Stanford University

Ann Chiaramonti Debay

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Duncan Coffey


Andrea Corrion

HRL Laboratories

Samantha Daly

University of Michigan

Anthony D'Amato

Ford Motor Company

Michael DePierro

Dow Corning Corporation

Shana Diez

Space Exploration Technologies

Jennifer Donahue

Geosyntec Consultants

Ramakrishna Dontha

Cummins Inc.

Adam Engler

University of California, San Diego

Anna Erickson

Georgia Institute of Technology

Larry Fahnestock

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Waleed Farahat

Rethink Robotics

Philip Freeman

The Boeing Company

Yun Fu

Northeastern University

Jeannette Garcia

IBM Almaden Research Center

Kevin Geary

HRL Laboratories

Christopher Geiger

Lockheed Martin

Brian German

Georgia Institute of Technology

Eric Guyer

Exponent, Inc.

Javier Guzman

ExxonMobil Research and Engineering

Karl Haapala

Oregon State University

Xue Han

Boston University

He (Helen) Huang

North Carolina State University

Jennifer Jordan

Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Christine Keenan

Xerox Corp.

Jeffrey Lee

Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent

Zhuo Li

Cadence Design Systems

Li Li

Pennsylvania State University

Chien-Chi Lin

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Sarah Lipscy

Ball Aerospace and Technologies Corp.

Jennifer Listgarten

Microsoft Corporation

Haowei Liu


Hussam Mahmoud

Colorado State University

Christienne Mancini

Northrop Grumman

Megan McCain

University of Southern California

Bryan McCloskey

University of California, Berkeley

Elia Merzari

Argonne National Laboratory

Jeetain Mittal

Lehigh University

Patrick Norris

W. L. Gore & Associates

Grace O'Connell

University of California, Berkeley

Timothy Ombrello

Air Force Research Laboratory

David Parkes

Harvard University

Lisa Poyneer

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Jeff Putnam

Broadcom Corporation

Jun Qu

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Varun Raghunathan

Agilent Research Laboratories

Mabel Ramirez

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

John Rose

The Boeing Company

Kristin Santamont


Scott Saponas

Microsoft Corporation

Julie Shah

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Maryam Shanechi

University of Southern California

Sameer Sonkusale

Tufts University

Todd Stewart


Stephanie TerMaath

University of Tennessee

Peter Tessier

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Mario Valenti


Jason Valentine

Vanderbilt University

Anthony Vamivakas

University of Rochester

Peggy Van Eepoel

Weidlinger Associates, Inc.

Mandana Veiseh

Palo Alto Research Center (Xerox PARC)

Enrique Vivoni

Arizona State University

Richard Vuduc

Georgia Institute of Technology

Chonggang Wang

InterDigital Inc.

Laurent White

ExxonMobil Research and Engineering

Joshua White

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Kathryn Whitehead

Carnegie Mellon University

Kristin Williams

Procter & Gamble Company

Guihua Yu

University of Texas at Austin

Roseanna Zia

Cornell University

Stephen Zingelewicz

GE Global Research

Speakers at this year's event are

Andrea Alu

University of Texas at Austin

Jeremy Banik

Air Force Research Laboratory

Jonathan Black

Virginia Tech

Alexandra Boltasseva

Purdue University

Jeffrey Czajkowski

University of Pennsylvania

Kevin Fu

University of Michigan

Julia Greer

California Institute of Technology

Ning Lin

Princeton University

Amy Lo

Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Rebecca Moore


Bryan Payne


Franziska Roesner

University of Washington

Dmitry Savransky

Cornell University

Christopher Spadaccini

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Tomas Vagoun

National Coordination Office for Networking and Information Technology

The organizers of the 2015 symposium are

Robert Braun (Chair)

Georgia Institute of Technology

Amir AghaKouchak

University of California, Irvine

David Brumley

Carnegie Mellon University

Jennifer Dionne

Stanford University

James Done

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Daniela Oliveira

University of Florida

Sara Seager

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Luke Sweatlock

Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Mitchell Walker

Georgia Institute of Technology


Sponsors for the 2015 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are The Grainger Foundation, the National Science Foundation, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Microsoft, and Cummins Inc.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies (along with the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council), an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science and technology.

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
NAE Senior Media and Public Relations Officer
Janet Hunziker
Contact Janet Hunziker
NAE Senior Program Officer, Frontiers of Engineering