National Academy of Engineering Members Among Inventors Elected to 2015 Class of the National Academy of Inventors


Mon, April 11, 2016

Washington , DC, April 11, 2016 —

Thirty-three members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) are represented among the 2015 class of Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) who will be inducted on Apr. 15, 2016, as part of the Fifth Annual Conference of the NAI in Washington, D.C.

The 33 NAE members join a group of 168 academic inventors selected for induction as NAI Fellows this year, contributing to the now 582 Fellows from more than 190 prestigious research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

“It is wonderful to see such a large representation of NAE members in the new class of NAI fellows,” said NAE President C. D. Mote, Jr. “The inventions created through engineering are keys to creating the world we live in and they will continue to do so in the future.”

The newly inducted NAE members are:

Kristi S. Anseth
University of Colorado Boulder

John C. Gore
Vanderbilt University

Harry A. Atwater, Jr.
California Institute of Technology

Robert E. Fischell
University of Maryland

Ray H. Baughman
The University of Texas at Dallas

Christodoulos A. Floudas
Texas A&M University

Sangeeta N. Bhatia
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jean M.J. Fréchet
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology

John E. Bowers
University of California, Santa Barbara

Naomi J. Halas
Rice University

C. Jeffrey Brinker
The University of New Mexico

Chenming C.  Hu
University of California, Berkeley

Emery N. Brown
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

James C. Liao
University of California, Los Angeles

Joe C. Campbell
University of Virginia

Tobin J. Marks
Northwestern University

Selim A. Chacour
University of South Florida

Umesh K. Mishra
University of California, Santa Barbara

Mau-Chung Frank Chang
National Chiao Tung University
University of California, Los Angeles

H. Vincent Poor
Princeton University

Shu Chien
University of California, San Diego

Kaushik Rajashekara
The University of Texas at Dallas

Alan W. Cramb
Illinois Institute of Technology

Kenneth L. Reifsnider
The University of Texas at Arlington

P. Daniel Dapkus
University of Southern California

Ben A. Shneiderman
University of Maryland

Mark E. Davis
California Institute of Technology

Norman J. Wagner III
University of Delaware

Robert C. Dean, Jr.
Dartmouth College

Paul K. Wright
University of California, Berkeley

Richard H. Frenkiel
Rutgers University
The State University of New Jersey

James C. Wyant
The University of Arizona

George Georgiou
The University of Texas at Austin


Among all Fellows of the NAI there are now 131 members of NAE.

“The overlap of NAE Members and Fellows of the NAI is quite natural considering the innovative nature of both groups,” said Eric Fossum, Charter NAI Fellow and NAE Member. “I am pleased to see so many of my inventive colleagues recognized by these important organizations.”

U.S. Commissioner for Patents Andrew Hirshfeld will provide the keynote address for the induction ceremony, which will be held at the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) in Alexandria, Virginia. In honor of their outstanding accomplishments, Fellows will be presented with a special trophy, medal, and rosette pin.

The 2015 Fellows account for 5,368 issued U.S. patents, bringing the collective patents held by all NAI Fellows to more than 20,000.

"It is an honor to recognize members of National Academy of Engineering as 2015 Fellows of the NAI," said Paul R. Sanberg, president of the NAI and NAI Charter Fellow. “These distinguished innovators have been recognized for breakthroughs in engineering which have contributed significantly to the betterment of society and it is privilege to have them as part of the Academy.”

Included among all NAI Fellows are more than 80 presidents and senior leaders of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 131 members of the National Academy of Engineering, 104 members of the National Academy of Sciences, 75 members of the National Academy of Medicine, 27 Nobel Laureates, 27 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 36 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation and U.S. National Medal of Science, 14 Lemelson-MIT prize recipients, 170 AAAS Fellows, and 98 IEEE Fellows, among other awards and distinctions.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction given to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

The academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers and chosen by a selection committee for their outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

A complete list of NAI Fellows, including links to biographical information, is available here:

Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

The National Academy of Inventors is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutions, with over 3,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 200 institutions, and growing rapidly. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. The NAI edits the multidisciplinary journal Technology and Innovation, Journal of the National Academy of Inventors®

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins