Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in NAE's 2013 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


Thu, June 27, 2013

Washington, DC, June 27, 2013 —

Eighty-one of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 19th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium.  Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the 2-1/2 day event. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from 310 applicants.

The symposium will be hosted by DuPont on September 19-21, at the Hotel du Pont in Wilmington, Delaware, and will cover cutting-edge developments in four areas: Designing and Analyzing Social Networks, Cognitive Manufacturing, Energy: Reducing our Dependence on Fossil Fuels, and Flexible Electronics.

“The well-being of society will rely on engineering ideas developed by our nation’s leading technological thinkers,” said NAE President Charles M. Vest. “The Frontiers of Engineering programs gives some of our most talented early career innovators the opportunity to create interdisciplinary relationships that are critical to shaping and advancing the future.”

The following engineers were selected as general participants

Hal Alper

University of Texas at Austin

Burcin Becerik-Gerber

University of Southern California

Irene Beyerlein

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Macie Black

Bandgap Engineering

Mark Borden

University of Colorado Boulder

Bryan Boudouris

Purdue University

Danijela Cabric

University of California, Los Angeles

John Carpenter

RTI International

Luis Cascao-Pereira


Julie Champion

Georgia Institute of Technology

Yiran Chen

University of Pittsburgh

Karen Christman

University of California, San Diego

Jason Clevenger

Exponent, Inc.

Baratunde Cola

Georgia Institute of Technology

Douglas Densmore

Boston University

Andreas Dreher

Procter & Gamble Company

Jennifer Dy

Northeastern University

Carolyn Ellinger

Eastman Kodak Company

Laura Espinal

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Philip Feng

Case Western Reserve University

Matthew Gaston

Carnegie Mellon University

Dennice Gayme

Johns Hopkins University

Elizabeth Gerber

Northwestern University

Ramon Gonzalez

Rice University

Angela Harris

Ford Motor Company

Davion Hill


Prashant Jain

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sham Kakade


Mandakini Kanungo

Xerox Webster Research Center

Karen Kennedy

Air Products and Chemicals

Darby Kimball

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mykel Kochenderfer

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Greg Kusinski

Chevron Energy Technology Company

Ken Laberteaux

Toyota Research Institute North America

Gert Lanckriet

University of California, San Diego

Robert Larsen

Dow Corning Corporation

Janice Li


Mei Li

Ford Motor Company

C. Michael Lindsay

Air Force Research Laboratory

Jennifer Logue

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

James Luedtke

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Carmel Majidi

Carnegie Mellon University

John McCloy

Washington State University

Thomas McGuire

Lockheed Martin

Meredith Morris


Philipp Mueller


Vidhya Navalpakkam


Alexander Orlov

Stony Brook University

John Owens

University of California, Davis

Bo Pang


Ah-Hyung Park

Columbia University

Leila Parsa

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Marco Pavone

Stanford University

Ashley Peterson


Mina Rais-Zadeh

University of Michigan

Sundar Ramamurthy

Applied Materials

Narayan Ramesh

Dow Chemical Company

Jose Emmanuel Ramirez-Marquez

Stevens Institute of Technology

Patrick Reed

Cornell University

Travis Reine

ExxonMobil Corp.

Carol Rose


Eric Ruggiero

GE Global Research Center

Tuhin Sahai

United Technologies Research Center

Jay Sayre

Battelle Memorial Institute

John Schuller

University of California, Santa Barbara

Hae-Jong Seo

Qualcomm Technologies Inc.

Lisa Shafer


Jian Sheng

Texas Tech University

Weidong Song

Boeing Company

Samuel Stanton

U.S. Army Research Laboratory

Bret Thomson

Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center - Pacific

Brian Thurow

Auburn University

Alberto Valdes-Garcia

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Brett Van Horn

Arkema Inc.

Subhas Venayagamoorthy

Colorado State University

Subramaniam Venkatraman


Pawel Woelke

Weidlinger Associates, Inc.

Robert Worl

Boeing Company

Chongjin Xie

Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent

Chong Wing Yung

Agilent Technologies

Xuanhe Zhao

Duke University

Speakers at this year's event are

Tony Jebara

Columbia University

Rob Miller

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Kate Starbird

University of Washington

Duncan Watts


Dragan Djurdjanovic

University of Texas, Austin

Chris Will

Apriso and FlexNet

Steve Ellet


Steve Skerlos

University of Michigan

Laura Diaz Anadon

Harvard University

Joyce Yang

US Department of Energy

Willem Rensink

Shell USA

Rachel Segalman

University of California, Berkeley

Antonio Facchetti

Polyera Inc.

Nanshu Lu

University of Texas at Austin

Polina Anikeeva

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The organizers of the 2013 symposium are

Kristi Anseth (chair)

University of Colorado, Boulder

Tanzeem Choudhury

Cornell University

Scott Klemmer

Stanford University

Elizabeth Hoegeman

Cummins Inc.

Rhett Mayor

Georgia Institute of Technology

Halil Berberoglu

University of Texas at Austin

Stuart Thomas


Lynn Loo

Princeton University

Tina Ng

Palo Alto Research Center

Sponsors for the 2013 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are DuPont, The Grainger Foundation, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, National Science Foundation, Microsoft Research, and Cummins Inc.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies (along with the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council), an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science and technology.

Janet Hunziker
Contact Janet Hunziker
Senior Program Officer, Frontiers of Engineering
Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
NAE Senior Media and Public Relations Officer