NAE Recognizes 2014 Grand Challenge Scholars


Fri, May 23, 2014

Washington, DC, May 23, 2014 —

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) congratulates 47 students for graduating from the NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Program in 2014. The students will receive diplomas this month from Duke University, Louisiana Tech University, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, University of Tennessee, University of Southern California, University of Iowa, Saint Louis University, and University of Texas at Austin. There are currently 16 active NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Programs, and dozens more in development.

The NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Program stemmed from the 14 NAE Grand Challenges for Engineering. It is a combined curricular and extra-curricular program designed to prepare students to tackle these goals that could dramatically improve quality of life around the world. In 2009, leaders from Duke University’s Pratt School of Engineering, the Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, and the University of Southern California’s Viterbi School of Engineering proposed this new education model. The program employs 5 key components: research experience, an interdisciplinary curriculum (referred to as Engineering +), entrepreneurship, a global dimension, and service learning.

The 2014 NAE Grand Challenge Scholars Program graduates are as follows:

Duke University:
Khanh Bui, Virginia Chen, Maxwell Coar, Radu Darie, Albert Hu, Max Jin, Jade Kessler, Brady Klein, Scott Martin, Anirudh Mohan, Daria Nesterovich, Taylor Phillips, Kushal Seetharam, and Emily Mass

Louisiana Tech:
Brittany Copponex

Franklin W. Olin College:
Jordyn Burger, Aaron Crenshaw, Shivam Desai, Sebastian Dziallas, Asa Eckert-Erdheim, Graham Hooton, Trevor Hooton, Silas Hughes, Larissa Little, Chelsey Nayback, Janaki Perera, Brendan Quinlivan, Brett Rowley, and Colby Sato

University of Tennessee:
Blake Palles

University of Southern California:
Ian Malave, Kirsten Rice, Mia Smith, and Zach Gima

University of Iowa:
Andrew Maurer, Jacob Kirpes, Nicholas Glynn, Shayma Elsheikh, Theresa Benskin, Stephen Belmustakov, and Zachary Rasmussen

Saint Louis University:
Gayatri C. Nijsure and Yolati Ruize de Gordoa

University of Texas at Austin:
Daniel J. An, Carolyn Coyle, Lily Nhoisaykham, and William Luu

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS the responsibility for advising the federal government.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.


Nicole Flores
Contact Nicole Flores
Program Associate for Public Relations