Innovative Early-Career Engineering Faculty Selected to Participate in NAE's Sixth Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium


Wed, September 24, 2014

Washington, DC, September 24, 2014 —

Seventy-seven of the nation's most innovative, young engineering educators have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's sixth Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium. Faculty members who are developing and implementing innovative educational approaches in a variety of engineering disciplines will come together for the 2-1/2-day event, where they can share ideas, learn from research and best practice in education, and leave with a charter to bring about improvement in their home institution. The attendees were nominated by NAE members or deans and chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants. The symposium will be held Oct. 26-29 in Irvine, Calif.

“The Frontiers of Engineering Education program brings together top university faculty to explore preparing engineers for the world’s great engineering challenges,” said NAE President Dan Mote. “It is a no-holds-barred look at the front-edge of engineering education."

“Most of the faculty in higher education must adapt to changing times; from chalk boards to overheads, from classrooms to online education, and from traditional students to learners who are quite adept at navigating the Internet. As a consequence, faculty are not only needing to continuously update their course content but also their delivery approach so as to better engage the students. Research on learning, publications on teaching methods, and conferences on education are all trying to support the beleaguered faculty”, said James M. Tien, Distinguished Professor and Dean of the College of Engineering at University of Miami and Chair of the FOEE Advisory Committee. “So is the annual FOEE symposium, which brings together engineering faculty who are eager to share their innovative teaching approaches and to learn from their equally talented colleagues.”

The following individuals were selected as attendees:

Xiang "Susie" Zhao

Alabama A&M University

W. Robert Ashurst

Auburn University

Elizabeth Lipke

Auburn University

Ahmad Khalil

Boston University

Alex Hills

Carnegie Mellon University

Stephanie Claussen

Colorado School of Mines

Sybil Sharvelle

Colorado State University

Ioannis Kymissis

Columbia University

Erica Cantrell Dawson

Cornell University

Kit-Yee "Daisy" Fan

Cornell University

Roseanna Zia

Cornell University

Kunihiko Taira

Florida State University

Alexander Alexeev

Georgia Institute of Technology

Baratunde Cola

Georgia Institute of Technology

Elliot Moore II

Georgia Institute of Technology

Kamran Paynabar

Georgia Institute of Technology

Manu Platt

Georgia Institute of Technology

Krzysztof Gajos

Harvard University

Mani Mina

Iowa State University

Elise Barrella

James Madison University

Kyle Gipson

James Madison University

Justin Henriques

James Madison University

Mary Caldorera-Moore

Louisiana Tech University

Laura Genik

Michigan State University

Carl Lira

Michigan State University

Jean-Celeste Kampe

Michigan Technological University

William Fahrenholtz

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Laurent Simon

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Matthew Cooper

North Carolina State University

Marilyn Minus

Northeastern University

Shashi Murthy

Northeastern University

David Gatchell

Northwestern University

Penny Hirsch

Northwestern University

Eric Masanet

Northwestern University

Paul Ruvolo

Olin College of Engineering

Sarma Pisupati

Pennsylvania State University

Daniel Steingart

Princeton University

Konstantina "Nadia" Gkritza

Purdue University

Carl Laird

Purdue University

Zoltan Nagy

Purdue University

Tonya Nilsson

Santa Clara University

Mark Fontenot

Southern Methodist University

Lauren Aquino Shluzas

Stanford University

Lisa Hwang

Stanford University

Christopher Wilson

Tennessee Technological University

Erick Moreno-Centeno

Texas A&M University

Arun Srinivasa

Texas A&M University

Qinghua "Peter" He

Tuskegee University

Phillip Farrington

University of Alabama, Huntsville

Chase Rainwater

University of Arkansas

Douglas Spearot

University of Arkansas

Shannon Ciston

University of California, Berkeley

Angelique Louie

University of California, Davis

Erkin Seker

University of California, Davis

Megan Valentine

University of California, Santa Barbara

Alireza Seyedi

University of Central Florida

Matthew Hallowell

University of Colorado, Boulder

Ryan Starkey

University of Colorado, Boulder

Krystyna Gielo-Perczak

University of Connecticut

John Cable

University of Maryland, College Park

Linda Schmidt

University of Maryland, College Park

Tilman Wolf

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Ines Basalo

University of Miami

Bogdan Epureanu

University of Michigan

Chinedum Okwudire

University of Michigan

Laurel Riek

University of Notre Dame

Irvin Jones Jr.

University of Pittsburgh

Arash Takshi

University of South Florida

Andrea Armani

University of Southern California

Stacey Finley

University of Southern California

AnnMarie Thomas

University of St. Thomas

Amit Bhasin

University of Texas, Austin

Ning "Jenny" Jiang

University of Texas, Austin

Carolyn Seepersad

University of Texas, Austin

Rene Overney

University of Washington

Kurt Thoroughman

Washington University in St. Louis

Matthew Werner

Webb Institute


The advisory committee members of the 2014 symposium are:

James Tien (Chair)

University of Miami

Darryll Pines (Vice-Chair)

University of Maryland

Nadine Aubry

Northeastern University

Edward Berger

Purdue University

Naomi Chesler

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Trevor Harding

California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo

Lisa Huettel

Duke University

Larry McIntire

Georgia Institute of Technology


The 2014 Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium is sponsored by John McDonnell and the McDonnell Family Foundation. 

The National Academy of Engineering, an independent, nonprofit organization, was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. Part of its mission is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. NAE along with the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council make up the National Academies.

Randy Atkins
Contact Randy Atkins
Senior Media Relations Officer
Beth Cady
Contact Beth Cady
Program Officer