Arthur M. Bueche Award

Recipients of the Arthur M. Bueche Award

Sort By
  • 2023
    Dr. David L. Tennenhouse
    Dr. David L. Tennenhouse
    Senior Advisor
    National Science Foundation
    CitationFor the conception, implementation, and stewardship of information technology R&D involving unique partnerships among academia, industry, and government.
  • 2022
    General Ellen M. Pawlikowski
    General Ellen M. Pawlikowski
    Independent Consultant
    CitationFor exceptional leadership of the development of space systems for national security, management of innovative, all-domain aerospace systems, and promoting diversity in engineering.
  • 2021
    Dr. John P. Holdren
    Dr. John P. Holdren
    Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and Director Office of Science and Technology Policy
    Executive Office of the President of the United States
    CitationFor national and international leadership in policymaking for arms control, nuclear weapons security, energy resources for sustainable development, and efforts to address climate change.
  • 2020
    Dr. Arden L. Bement Jr.
    Dr. Arden L. Bement, Jr.
    David A. Ross Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Nuclear Engineering and Director, Global Policy Research Institute and Global Affairs Officer
    Purdue University
    CitationFor contributions to science and technology advancement, international relationships, policy development, and Academies studies, from executive positions in government, industry, and academia.
  • 2019
    Dr. Roderic Ivan Pettigrew
    Dr. Roderic Ivan Pettigrew
    CEO of Engineering Health
    Texas A&M and Houston Methodist Hospital
    CitationFor leadership at the NIH and for academic and industrial convergence research and education, resulting in innovations that have improved global health care.
  • 2018
    Venkatesh Narayanamurti
    Dr. Venkatesh Narayanamurti
    Benjamin Peirce Research Professor of Technology and Public Policy
    Harvard University
    CitationFor seminal contributions to condensed matter physics and visionary leadership of multidisciplinary research in industry, academia, and national labs that generated research and engineering advances.
  • 2017
    Louis J. Lanzerotti
    Dr. Louis J. Lanzerotti
    Distinguished Research Professor
    New Jersey Institute of Technology
    CitationFor leadership in understanding the Earth’s radiation environment and its effects on communications and space hardware, and for contributions to public policy on space-based research.
  • 2016
    Dr. Henry T. Yang
    Dr. Henry T. Yang
    University of California, Santa Barbara
    CitationFor seminal research in aerospace, civil, and mechanical engineering; superb contributions to national science and technology policy; and enhancements to international technological development and cooperation.
  • 2015
    Dr. William F. Banholzer
    Dr. William F. Banholzer
    Research Professor
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    CitationFor his extraordinary record of new products commercialization and improvement in university-industry relationships through innovative intellectual property treatment and joint industry-academic funding.
  • 2014
    Siegfried S. Hecker Biography
    Dr. Siegfried S. Hecker
    Professor (research)
    Stanford University, Department of Management Science and Engineering
    CitationFor contributions to nuclear science and engineering and for service to the nation through nuclear diplomacy.
  • 2013
    John E. Kelly III Biography
    Dr. John E. Kelly III
    IBM Senior Vice President and Director of IBM Research
    CitationFor his leadership in driving US semiconductor technology excellence through the creation of world class government, university, and corporate R&D partnerships.
  • 2012
    James J. Duderstadt Biography
    Dr. James J. Duderstadt
    President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering
    University of Michigan
    CitationFor leadership in academe and national service to support innovative science and technology policies.
  • 2011
    Charles Elachi
    Charles Elachi
    Jet Propulsion Laboratory
    CitationFor innovations in planetary remote sensing science and technology, and distinguished leadership in creating government, university and industry partnerships and space technology policies.
  • 2010
    Dr. Anita K. Jones
    Dr. Anita K. Jones
    University Professor Emerita
    University of Virginia
    CitationFor leadership in the development of U.S. science and technology policy and the development of technologies for national security, including technical contributions to high performance computing and cybersecurity.
  • 2009
    Dr. Sheila E. Widnall
    Dr. Sheila E. Widnall
    Institute Professor
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    CitationA remarkable academic career in fluid dynamics combined with the highest levels of public service, and for championing the role of women in engineering.
  • 2008
    Dr. G. Wayne Clough
    Dr. G. Wayne Clough
    Smithsonian Institution
    CitationOutstanding accomplishments advancing civil engineering and higher education, and for leadership promoting U.S. international competitiveness.
  • 2007
    Dr. Jordan J. Baruch
    Dr. Jordan J. Baruch
    Jordan Baruch Associates
    CitationThe promotion of innovation and management of science and technology nationally and internationally, thereby enhancing the economy of the U.S. and developing nations.
  • 2006
    Dr. Chauncey Starr
    Dr. Chauncey Starr
    President Emeritus
    Electric Power Research Institute
    CitationLeadership in the development of nuclear power, contributions to the creation of the field of risk analysis and leadership in electric power R&D as the founding president of EPRI.
  • 2005
    Dr. Leo Young
    Dr. Leo Young
    Director for Research (Retired)
    United States Department of Defense
    CitationLeadership in sponsoring collaborative research programs among academic, industrial, and government engineers and scientists.
  • 2004
    Dr. John Brooks Slaughter
    Dr. John Brooks Slaughter
    President and CEO
    National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering
    CitationSupport of engineering research and education within the National Science Foundation, many contributions to the development of science and technology policy, and lifelong dedication to increasing diversity in the disciplines of science and engineering.
Displaying 1 - 20 of 40
Items per Page